Jump to content



Photo

Death on Wings Quest-ion


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Skie

Skie

    Member

  • Members
  • 188 posts

Posted 24 February 2013 - 09:32 PM

Hello,

Just to be sure: in the Death on Wings Quest Encounter 1 for heroes to lose it's enough for one of them to be surrouned by any combination of monsters,boulders and friendly figures, right? Does it mean heroes shouldn't move as a group, since it makes it easier to make one of them surrounded?



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 10:33 AM

You got it right. At least, the heroes must be cautious not to be surrounded at the end of their turn.
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 SexyMike44

SexyMike44

    Member

  • Members
  • 55 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 08:11 AM

I have a question about this as well.  If you have 4 boulders all together in the canyon, can the heroes use awareness to get by them at all? the rules say "nearest adjacent open square" but also later say to ignore obstacles.  So does that mean a hero can finish their movement on  boulder? could they use 2 successful awareness checks to get by? or is their only option to use might checks at this point?

 

thanks



#4 Ser Folly

Ser Folly

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 18 March 2014 - 09:45 AM

I have a question about this as well.  If you have 4 boulders all together in the canyon, can the heroes use awareness to get by them at all? the rules say "nearest adjacent open square" but also later say to ignore obstacles.  So does that mean a hero can finish their movement on  boulder? could they use 2 successful awareness checks to get by? or is their only option to use might checks at this point?

 

thanks

 

I only have the German translation but the way I read it, the hero can only move into a FREE/unoccupied/empty square. I think the 'ignore obstacles' is just referring to the spiders that CAN sit on the boulders or other obstacles while crossing (although I can't think of anything appropriate). IMO crossing two boulders in a row would make things way too difficult for the OL.


Descent - Star Wars LCG - Netrunner - X-Wing - Arkham Horror - Elder Sign - Battlestar Galactica - Warhammer: Diskwars - Kingsburg - Edge of the Empire - Civilization - Bloodbowl Teammanager - Lord of the Rings LCG ... looks like I love FFG stuff :huh:


#5 griton

griton

    Member

  • Members
  • 393 posts

Posted 19 March 2014 - 09:09 AM

I have a question about this as well.  If you have 4 boulders all together in the canyon, can the heroes use awareness to get by them at all? the rules say "nearest adjacent open square" but also later say to ignore obstacles.  So does that mean a hero can finish their movement on  boulder? could they use 2 successful awareness checks to get by? or is their only option to use might checks at this point?

 

Their only option is a Might check. The "ignoring obstacles" is to signify that they won't block the path from point A (hero's origin space) to point B (empty space adjacent to said boulder), but the restriction for where he can move to still applies. It must be an empty space.

 

Also note that boulders are not obstacles. Obstacle is a specific term, and the objective tokens just say "they block line of sight and movement", which also happens to be what obstacles do, but anything referring to an obstacle does NOT include these boulders. For example: Any figure with FLY can ignore obstacles while moving, and they could NOT ignore the boulders.

 

Another hint is that all actions unless otherwise specified can not be interrupted, so you couldn't perform one Awareness check, then while floating somewhere in the middle, before being placed in an empty space, perform a second Awareness check. Each one has to be fully completed separately.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS