Jump to content



Photo

Rule question: Playing the Dragon for the First time


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Chasch

Chasch

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 March 2009 - 08:19 AM

When you play the Dragon for the first time, you are supposed to place the Dragon on the start tile. By 'played' does it mean "placed on the table" or "character moved onto"?



#2 EchoingZen

EchoingZen

    Member

  • Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 10 March 2009 - 06:08 AM

You place her when the tile is first played into any unoccupied location.



#3 Zozimus

Zozimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 304 posts

Posted 16 June 2010 - 09:04 AM

I think what you're asking is whether the dragon is first "played" as a result of a tile being laid or a hero moving onto the "Move Drakon" tile.  You can place the dragon figure on any unoccupied chamber the first time a hero STEPS ONTO the "move Drakon" icon.   


Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play. - Heraclitus


#4 Zozimus

Zozimus

    Member

  • Members
  • 304 posts

Posted 23 August 2010 - 01:36 PM

Actually, re-reading the rulesheet, I see what you mean.  It does seem to say that you can place the dragon when you lay the first 'move Drakon' tile.  We always play that she only gets placed when someone actually steps onto the tile....anyone have any thoughts about which version of the rule might work better, and why?  Anecdotally, it seems to work fine the way we play, but I'd be interested in hearing from anyone whose opinion differs. 


Man is most nearly himself when he achieves the seriousness of a child at play. - Heraclitus


#5 The_Warlock

The_Warlock

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,618 posts

Posted 20 June 2011 - 10:32 PM

Zozimus said:

Actually, re-reading the rulesheet, I see what you mean.  It does seem to say that you can place the dragon when you lay the first 'move Drakon' tile.  We always play that she only gets placed when someone actually steps onto the tile....anyone have any thoughts about which version of the rule might work better, and why?  Anecdotally, it seems to work fine the way we play, but I'd be interested in hearing from anyone whose opinion differs. 

We played a couple of games placing Drakon only when a Drakon Moves chamber is entered by a hero. The rules seem to state otherwise: Drakon is placed when the chamber is placed.

This gives a little edge to the player who first places such a chamber.  He can choose where to put Drakon and therefore create problems to other players. Also entering a chamber with Drakon inside causes you to lose Gold and to be teleported back to start.

I think following the rules makes gameplay more interesting and I recommend it.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS