Jump to content



Photo

Too many monster groups if you own 1st Edition too???


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 bulldoguk

bulldoguk

    Member

  • Members
  • 206 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 12:57 AM

Hi guys, as a regular 1st edition player I am lucky enough to own all the aditional monsters, took me a while to take the plunge but decided to finally go for it and buy 2nd edition, havent had time to play yet but skimming through the rules looks like they did a nice job of re-vamping it all.

Anyhow, obviously the conversion kit was a must for me but I notice a 'glitch' in the rules concerning monster rules as follows…

 

On the first page of the quest guide it states;

'For each open monster group, the OL may choose any unused monster type that matches at least one trait icon listed at the top of the page.

The OL takes ALL monster cards of the appropriate act that match the required and chosen open monster groups, and places these cards in his play area'

 

Now, while that may not be an issue if you own only 2nd edition if, like me, you own 1st too it means you start and are able to spawn (and initially set-up) a HELL of a lot of monsters!

 

Example below shows Fat Goblin encounter 1 for instance, goblin archers, 1 open group. Matching the Wilderness symbol at the top of the page I could field a total of SEVEN act I monster groups! Seems a little harsh on the heroes don't you think??

How would you chaps play it? I think possibly the 'ALL' in the initial paragraph may be a mistake and the OL's forces should comprise of any named monster groups and ONE open group card of the OL's choice? Two open group cards if it states '2 open groups' etc.

Would appreciate your input ;0)

Cheers in advance



#2 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,402 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 01:35 AM

The OL takes ALL monster cards of the appropriate act that match the required and chosen open monster groups, and places these cards in his play area'

 

You're focusing on the wrong part of the sentence.  You only take the cards that match the required and chosen monster groups.  "Required" monster groups being the ones that are explicitly requested, "chosen" monster groups being your open groups.



#3 Macnme

Macnme

    Member

  • Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 02:11 AM

…And you would still have to respect group limits when in play.

 

It just gives you extra choices for which monsters to use on any given encounter.



#4 bulldoguk

bulldoguk

    Member

  • Members
  • 206 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 02:43 AM

Ahhhh, indeed Steve-o, now you point it out I see I was focusing on the wrong part of the sentence. That's the trouble with buying 2 or 3 boardgames a week and being the person who has to read through all the rules. You tend to skim rather than digest! Cheers fellas. Just finished slapping a little paint on the contents of the core and lair boxes so should be getting stuck into a few games sometime soon. Plan on incorporating road to legends and sea of blood to build a more open campaign system too, should be fun






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS