Jump to content



Photo

Ruling: Local Unrest with Mechanized Units


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Raptor2213

Raptor2213

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:05 PM

If a player uses "Local Unrest" on a system containing a space station, PDS, and two mechanized units, what happens?



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 544 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 08:35 PM

The FAQ states the following: "Mechanized Units are treated as Ground Forces in regards to invading and controlling planets only, this includes cards and effects which would revert a planet to neutral if no Ground Forces are present." I cannot interpret this in any other way than that the Local Unrest AC has zero effect on the planet in question.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 544 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 08:41 PM

For the sake of clarity I'll also quote the second half of the aforementioned FAQ answer: " They participate in invasion combat but are immune to all abilities that refer to Ground Forces, such as Action Cards, technologies, Domain Counters, bombardments, PDS fire, and Leaders."

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 Raptor2213

Raptor2213

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 03:21 AM

Fnoffen said:

The FAQ states the following: "Mechanized Units are treated as Ground Forces in regards to invading and controlling planets only, this includes cards and effects which would revert a planet to neutral if no Ground Forces are present." I cannot interpret this in any other way than that the Local Unrest AC has zero effect on the planet in question.

Ah, thanks.  I missed that one.



#5 Nehkrimah

Nehkrimah

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 11:27 AM

From memory Local Unrest also exhausts the Planet card, so that would still happen, and if there was a MU and a GF, the GF would be killed, but the MU would stop the planet from reverting to neutral.



#6 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 544 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 12:07 AM

True. Forgot the part about exhausting. Which might still make Local Unrest a viable option to hinder a player from having enough resources to complete an objective for example. Even if (s)he retains control of the planet for future rounds.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#7 Robofish

Robofish

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 04 September 2013 - 06:55 AM

Rioters? Close the hatch.

Orbital Bombardment? Close the hatch.

Diplomats? Close the hatch.

Man killing bioforms? Close the hatch.

Droping onto a planet into heavy PDS fire? Close the hatch.

 

There is nothing you can't do in a tank!


  • Aeonim likes this




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS