Jump to content



Photo

Frey Hospitality claim effect question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 316 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:26 AM

Opponent A has Frey Hospitality as their plot card

Opponent A attacks Opponent B with an Intrigue challenge.

Opponent C supports B and steps in with support but loses the challenge.

 

I know Opponent B must pay the claim ( intrigue challenge ) but which opponent pays the Frey claim effect, is it C ?



#2 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,185 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:33 AM

Daenarys said:

Opponent A has Frey Hospitality as their plot card

Opponent A attacks Opponent B with an Intrigue challenge.

Opponent C supports B and steps in with support but loses the challenge.

 

I know Opponent B must pay the claim ( intrigue challenge ) but which opponent pays the Frey claim effect, is it C ?

C loses the challenge, not B. Look at it this way, if C had won the challenge, it would be C who could trigger "after you win a challenge" effects, not B, right?

Since C lost the challenge and Frey Hospitality hits "that player" who loses the INT challenge, it's C who is on the hook for the plot's passive effect.



#3 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 316 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 10:03 AM

To add another similar example could you please clarify

Opponent A plays Frey Hospitality

Opponent B plays Twist of Fate

Opponent A does a power challenge and wins against Opponent B and changes from a power challenge to an intrigue. As well as the card claim is Frey also applied ?

 

Opponent A has Twist of Fate

Opponent B has Shireen Baratheon ( F26 ) as a character agenda

Opponent B attacks A with a military challenge and wins and subsequently changes to a power claim. Does her response also kick in ?

 



#4 J_Roel

J_Roel

    Member

  • Members
  • 248 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 01:38 PM

You're making a mistake in your interpretation of Twist of Fate; you do not change the challenge type after you win. you only change the claim effect. So, to respond to your questions, you cannot trigger responses to winning a challenge of a type that you didn't actually initiate just because you resolved the claim of that type.


"...and Balerion... his fire was as black as his scales, his wings so vast that whole towns were swallowed up in their shadow when he passed over head."





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS