Jump to content



Photo

Clarification on what an install cost is/ ignoring all costs (Personal Workshop/ Test Run)


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Fournumerical

Fournumerical

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 09:40 PM

Wording on some recent cards is fairly ambiguous in regards to rulebook terms. When a card like Test Run or Personal workshop says 'install it, ignoring all costs' does this mean ignore only install costs (credits, any additional costs) or does this extend to MU costs. I guess theres nothing saying 'ignoring all install costs', thres also nothing really defining MU as being part of install costs or not, other that previous cards lowering install costs not mentioning MU at all (so its really just an assumption).



#2 radiskull

radiskull

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,360 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 05:47 AM

MU isn't a cost; it's a play restriction.



#3 Gathrax42

Gathrax42

    Member

  • Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 20 February 2013 - 09:40 PM

 

It is not that clear in the instructions but on page 13 there is a box on the right that explains that an ice installed in to a position after the first will cost 1 credit more (cumulative) to each spot.

So basically the second ice costs 1 credit to install and the third 2 credits etc.



#4 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,255 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 01:54 PM

Gathrax42 said:

 

It is not that clear in the instructions but on page 13 there is a box on the right that explains that an ice installed in to a position after the first will cost 1 credit more (cumulative) to each spot.

So basically the second ice costs 1 credit to install and the third 2 credits etc.

 

True but has nothing to do with this topic as these are Runner cards and your answer only applies to the corp player.



#5 stormwolf27

stormwolf27

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 22 February 2013 - 01:53 AM

Fournumerical said:

Wording on some recent cards is fairly ambiguous in regards to rulebook terms. When a card like Test Run or Personal workshop says 'install it, ignoring all costs' does this mean ignore only install costs (credits, any additional costs) or does this extend to MU costs. I guess theres nothing saying 'ignoring all install costs', thres also nothing really defining MU as being part of install costs or not, other that previous cards lowering install costs not mentioning MU at all (so its really just an assumption).

MU is a play restriction and has nothing to do with costs to install the program. You only ignore paying the credits and the action.

 

also, toq, maybe you could've been productive yourself and answered the poor soul, instead of just complaining about people trying to help by comparing the situation to corp cards.


"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka


#6 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,255 posts

Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:45 AM

stormwolf27 said:

Fournumerical said:

 

Wording on some recent cards is fairly ambiguous in regards to rulebook terms. When a card like Test Run or Personal workshop says 'install it, ignoring all costs' does this mean ignore only install costs (credits, any additional costs) or does this extend to MU costs. I guess theres nothing saying 'ignoring all install costs', thres also nothing really defining MU as being part of install costs or not, other that previous cards lowering install costs not mentioning MU at all (so its really just an assumption).

 

 

MU is a play restriction and has nothing to do with costs to install the program. You only ignore paying the credits and the action.

 

also, toq, maybe you could've been productive yourself and answered the poor soul, instead of just complaining about people trying to help by comparing the situation to corp cards.

 

27, rude and uncalled for. Also the question was already answered by Radiskull 4 days ago.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS