Jump to content



Photo

Resource Match? Cards with affiliation icons but zero resources.


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Luminous Quasar

Luminous Quasar

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 08:50 PM

The rule book says (pg 16):

 

* The cost of playing a neutral unit, enhancement, or event card does not require a resource match…. 
 
* Cards with a resource cost of “0” do not require a resource match to play.
 
The LS Enhance card "False Lead" and the Event card "Fall Back" have resource cost of "0" thus making both cards valid to both rules above. However, both cards have Rebel affiliation icons so I'm confused. 
 
My question: 
Though I don't pay any resource cost on those cards BUT do I still have to play both cards with (in this case) Rebel Alliance affiliation objective card or its affiliation card In Play? 


#2 DailyRich

DailyRich

    Member

  • Members
  • 366 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 01:51 AM

Since their cost is 0, they don't require a resource match, so no, you wouldn't have to have Rebel Alliance resources in play.  Although since both cards come from a Rebel Alliance objective set, chances are pretty good you'd have some Rebel resources in play anyway.



#3 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,264 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 03:42 AM

Not sure why you asked as you quoted the right part from page 16 of rulebook,

 

Cards with a resource cost
of “0” do not require a
resource match to play.



#4 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,390 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 04:02 AM

I'm guessing he asked because of a LotR LCG rule that requires you to have a matching Hero to play 0-cost cards.  No such rule in this game.



#5 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,264 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 04:43 AM

dbmeboy said:

I'm guessing he asked because of a LotR LCG rule that requires you to have a matching Hero to play 0-cost cards.  No such rule in this game.

 

Maybe that is what it is, I was also confused by his statement that those cards were affected by both rules he quoted, if they are not neutral cards they are not affected by the first rule quoted.



#6 Luminous Quasar

Luminous Quasar

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 05:43 AM

Toqtamish said:

 

dbmeboy said:

 

I'm guessing he asked because of a LotR LCG rule that requires you to have a matching Hero to play 0-cost cards.  No such rule in this game.

 

 

 

Maybe that is what it is, I was also confused by his statement that those cards were affected by both rules he quoted, if they are not neutral cards they are not affected by the first rule quoted.

 

 

 

Thanks guys for the answers and comments. 

dbmeboy -

I didn't know that LotR has such rule (LotR LCG rule that requires you to have a matching Hero to play 0-cost cards) so my question was coincidently bumping to a common sense situation. I've already thought that I wouldn't need a Resource Match since at least one rule (the 0 resource cost) have applied to both cards but I just need to make sure :) 

 

Toqtamish -

yes you are right and that was the confusing part to me .. "which rule overrules what". I was expecting that those 2 cards are neutral especially with 0 resource cost as most of them (Enhance/Event cards) (correct me if I'm wrong) are either having affiliation icons with the resource cost, which requires resource match obviously, or neutral with 0 resource cost.

Perhaps if it were similar to LotR LCG (as stated by dbmeboy), this situation would make a lot more sense if there is a condition to the rule .. something like "Require a Resource Match to play 0-cost cards in any cards with affiliation icons" or "Non-Neutral cards with 0 resource cost also do not require a Resource Match". 



#7 Budgernaut

Budgernaut

    The Uncanny One

  • Members
  • 1,578 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:11 AM

This came up in our tournament last Saturday. The question asked was, "Why have an affiliation on the card if you don't need a resource match to play it?" I suggested it was for other card interactions. For instance, Vader and Emperor Palpatine react to Sith event cards being played, so Force Choke needs to have the Sith affiliation on it to trigger those reactions, even though it doesn't need a resource match. Although we don't have cards that interact with Rebel Alliance events yet, I'm sure we will eventually.


"There is a fine line between neutral and amoral. In fact, there may be no line there at all."

--Count Dooku


#8 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,264 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:39 AM

Luminous Quasar said:

Toqtamish -

yes you are right and that was the confusing part to me .. "which rule overrules what". I was expecting that those 2 cards are neutral especially with 0 resource cost as most of them (Enhance/Event cards) (correct me if I'm wrong) are either having affiliation icons with the resource cost, which requires resource match obviously, or neutral with 0 resource cost.

 

Both cards still have an affiliation on them that you can see in the color on their frames, the Rebel Alliance icon above their card type and as well within the text box where you can see the Rebel Alliance symbol in the background.

 



#9 Luminous Quasar

Luminous Quasar

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 06:44 AM

Budgernaut said:

… The question asked was, "Why have an affiliation on the card if you don't need a resource match to play it?" …

 

Yes .. exactly. To my understanding .. it contradicts one or the other. 



#10 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,390 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 07:46 AM

Luminous Quasar said:

Budgernaut said:

… The question asked was, "Why have an affiliation on the card if you don't need a resource match to play it?" …

 

Yes .. exactly. To my understanding .. it contradicts one or the other. 

As mentioned above, the affiliation of the card can be referenced by other cards and therefore is relevant even without needing a resource match. For instance, Vader and the Emperor care about Sith event cards. If all 0-cost cards were neutral you'd be removing the ability to make 0-cost cards that interact with them (such as Force Choke).

#11 Luminous Quasar

Luminous Quasar

    Member

  • Members
  • 33 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 01:11 AM

dbmeboy said:

As mentioned above, the affiliation of the card can be referenced by other cards and therefore is relevant even without needing a resource match. For instance, Vader and the Emperor care about Sith event cards. If all 0-cost cards were neutral you'd be removing the ability to make 0-cost cards that interact with them (such as Force Choke).

 

 

Thanks dbmeboy, after rechecking the Force Choke card and how Vader and the Emperor both are referenced to the Sith's event card to trigger the  Reaction … it's perfectly making a lot of sense now for the 0-cost cards that also have the affiliation icons .. :) 

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS