Jump to content



Photo

Rules question; casting-cost and effect


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 just Logan

just Logan

    Member

  • Members
  • 144 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 12:07 PM

Reading a BGG forum the question came up for Bless does  the phrasing "Cast and discard" mean you discard on an unsuccessful spell check? My answer is no; "To cast a spell, an investigator must pay its Sanity cost and then pass a Spell check."  Then I realized that this means every "cast and exhaust" spell would not get exhausted on a failed check. My reading of the rules seems like casting goes- Dedicate hands, Lose Sanity, Roll, Effect. Cast and… falls under efffect right?



#2 The Professor

The Professor

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,356 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 01:03 PM

Your sequesnce is correct…Dedicate hand(s); Exhaust Spell; Spend Sanity; Make Spell (Lore) Check; If successful, Spell takes effect and "Discard" if directed to do so or If unsuccessful, nothing else happnes…you do not "Discard" spells which don't provide an effect.


The Professor

http://crafthulhu.squarespace.com

 

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS