More than the minimum deck size?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 JosephCurwen

JosephCurwen

• Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 09:54 AM

I'm new to card games in general, and I was wondering why it is so bad to go with a corp or runner deck that is say 54 cards instead of the minimum 45? I find that I can't reduce my deck size because there are so many cards I want in my deck. Will this affect my play? I guess I'll be pulling from more cards so  I will see even less of everything in the deck, but isn't that just part of the gamble since you probably won't see half your cards anyhow? What difference will an extra 10 cards make?

#2 JosephCurwen

JosephCurwen

• Members
  • 40 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 09:56 AM

Right now I have a HB deck with 64 cards in it. The only thing I'm afraid of is having so many agendas in the deck that I might pull 4 in a row or something…

#3 Runix

Runix

• Members
  • 193 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 03:28 PM

Mr. Curwen - I thought you were dead . . . ?

But anyway, this has been discussed elsewhere, but I'm too lazy to look it up, so I'll just recap.  The answer is different depending on Corp vs Runner.

For Runner, it's fairly simple:  the smaller your deck, the more likely you are to draw the most important cards in your deck.  While all your cards may be important to some degree - that's why they're there! - some are clearly more important than others.  For instance, in a Virus deck, you definitely want to get your Djinn out early, as it lets you go find all the Virus cards that drive your strategy.  The smaller your deck, the faster you're going to get your Djinn.  Now, whether 45 is small enough, or whether 40 (from using Chaos Theory, the new Shaper identity) is so much better that it's worth going with a less useful special ability, well, that's a subject for debate.  But once your Runner deck starts getting up past 55 or 60 cards, you're definitely hurting efficiency.