Jump to content



Photo

Force Barrier Query


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Horribleangel

Horribleangel

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 February 2013 - 11:09 PM

Hi guys.

I am new to the game and must admit to really enjoying it at the moment, and no doubt you will see several rules query posts from me in the future!

Ok, the query I have is regarding the Dark Angels power Force Barrier. I am slightly confused on the wording - 'While this power is in effect, and as long as the Librarian does not move…'

Now is this move as in Full Move, Half Move etc? Or make any form of movement (such as raising his hand to shoot a gun or swinging a sword) as 'Wrapping himself in a blanket of power, the Librarian creates a potent but static psychic shell over himself.' I know the errata went on to add Dodge to the movement restrictions, but with the exclusion of Parry, I am inclined to think that by 'move' they move Movement and not combat attacks, etc.

As said, their is slight confusion in my group regarding this. And the power seems very potent with the amount of AP it gives to allow to be used to still make combat attacks. But insanely limited if it requires one to remain completely motionless.

 

Thanks in advance for all your comments and help!



#2 herichimo

herichimo

    Member

  • Members
  • 877 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 11:28 PM

"Does not move," means what it sounds like it means. Once manifested you may not move from your location or the power fades.

It does not say "may take no actions," which would mean you stand there like a statue.

Common sense applies to all the rules in Deathwatch. If the way you are playing a rule sounds utterly rediculous or too good to be true, it (the way you're playing it, not how its meant to be played) probably is.



#3 Cryhavok

Cryhavok

    Member

  • Members
  • 354 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 12:43 PM

I would have it mean, "no actions with the movement subtype."




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS