Jump to content



Photo

Okaluk and Rakash - Hero Ability Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 marlowespade

marlowespade

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2013 - 05:28 AM

Hi all,

Question about O&R's hero ability - it says that in addition to two actions they receive 4 movement points per turn.

A lot of folks have been interpreting this as basically a free third action to move up to 4 spaces per turn, but it seems to me that it can also be interpreted as getting a pool of 4 extra spaces to allocate to any move action the player might take on their turn.

So, for one action they could move their regular speed of 2, plus use another 3 movement points for a total of 5 spaces moved on that action. Then if they made their second action a move they could move their regular speed of 2 plus use the remaining 1 movement point for a total of 3 spaces moved on the second action.

Is there an official ruling somewhere on how this ability works? I dig the concept of a free third move action, but somehow that doesn't seem right me - if that had been the case then the card would have specified a free third move instead of making reference to a specific number of points.

 

Thanks for any clarification you can provide!



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 694 posts

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:08 AM

I would consider that the 4 MPs are in addition to actions, so when spent they don't count as a moving action - quite like fatigue move, but without expending fatigue.

And don't mix spaces with movement points, as some terrain spaces cost more than one movement point (e.g. water).


An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 marlowespade

marlowespade

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 16 February 2013 - 10:20 AM

Thanks! Put that way, I can see the logic of considering the MPs outside the action context.

Robin said:

And don't mix spaces with movement points, as some terrain spaces cost more than one movement point (e.g. water).

Quite right, I was just going for the simplest explanation.



#4 Araqiel

Araqiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 17 February 2013 - 02:53 AM

Yep. It's quite essential to remember that using a move action simply gives you movement points, you can stop and resume that movement as long as you have MPs. A move action simply grants X amount of MPs, nothing else.

As I see it O&R simply gets 4 free MPs pr turn, in addition to anything gained from fatigue or move actions. There's no addtional action mentioned anywhere.

On another note, that hero is a ***** **** to play against. Have her in a game now where I'm the OL, the usual blocking strats don't do much :P



#5 Khager

Khager

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 February 2013 - 09:54 PM

Movement points are actualy stranger than one might think. Let’s take O&R as an example:

 

At the start of their turn they have 4 movement points:

Move action: 0

Fatigue: 0

Hero Ability: 4

 

Now, they use 2 fatigue to gain movement points, and declare a move action. That makes 8 movement points:

Move action: 2

Fatigue: 2

Hero Ability: 4

 

During Move Action, the OL uses Tripwire and O&R fails their check – that makes them end their move action:

Move action: 0

Fatigue: 2

Hero Ability: 4

 

O&R declares another Move Action and moves 1 space using their Hero Ability.

Move action: 2

Fatigue: 2

Hero Ability: 3

 

 The OL Immobilizes them with Web Trap:

Move action: 0

Fatigue: 2

Hero Ability: 3

 

(Q: What happens when a figure is Immobilized during a move action?
A: That figure’s move action immediately ends.)

 

O&R cannot use their 1 remaining fatigue to get an additon movement point, but as they get Immobilized, they only lose MP from Move Action and can still move using the remaining MP. Weird isn’t it?



#6 Araqiel

Araqiel

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 20 February 2013 - 09:37 AM

Well, if you want to do it the easiest and least troublesome way you never mix the moves.

If you use a move action, you move the spaces you get before you can spend fatigue or "shift" to using e.g O&Rs special ability moves. If you spend fatigue, you spend them one at a time, and move the corresponding space when you do. (i.e you can't stock up on mps from several sources without using them first). If you just do that it makes it all clear, not to mention it's much simpler for everyone.

Besides, any other way would mean constant arguments every time the OL plays tripwire etc because it's not clear which type of move was used for that specific tile.

Also I don't know if it's FAQed yet, I guess it's not, but immobilize pretty much has to mean NO movement point use until it's off. I.e the only way to move while immobilized are certain skills/abilities (like the skill allowing the knight to port to a friend etc). Anything else would make it rather useless.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS