Jump to content



Photo

Trolls and Ranger Spikes


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,306 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 11:08 AM

Hey all,

In We Must Away Ere Break of Day, Bert's card reads:

"Players cannot play attachments on Troll enemies."

The card Ranger Spike reads: 

"Play Ranger Spikes into the staging area unattached.  If unattached, attach Ranger Spikes to the next eligible enemy that enters the staging area."

Are the trolls eligible targets when they enter the staging area on quest card 2B?  The card is never played on the Troll, it is played into the staging area.  It is simply attached on the troll -- and there is no prohibition on the trolls having attachments, as far as I can tell.  Only a play restriction.

Would make this quest super easy if you could get 3 Ranger Spikes into the staging area before 2B!


  • chuckles likes this

#2 legolas18

legolas18

    Member

  • Members
  • 355 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 01:35 PM

Whoa.  That's amazing.  I didn't even think about that.  It would definitely make this scenario too easy if you did that, but it sounds right.  Unless by playing Ranger Spikes and putting it into the staging area, you are technically "playing" it on the trolls.  I don't know.  You might want to send in this question to Caleb Grace or something.


Playing an intense scenario, on the last stage, right when you notice you've been playing with two Bofurs the whole time.


#3 monkeyrama

monkeyrama

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 11:29 PM

That's pretty intruiging. Have to say I never read it like that, and this does look like a gray area that needs ruled on. I did have success in this scenario popping Ranger Spikes into the staging area, killing the troll who prevents attachments, and then letting the trolls disengage, thus re-entering the staging area and getting spiked.

Definitely one to put in officially. Although, the text of the Ranger Spikes says:

'If unattached, attach Ranger Spikes to the next eligible enemy that enters the staging area.'

Does this mean that the player attaches them (therefore making them ineligible for the trolls)?



#4 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,306 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 12:47 AM

I've sent this one in for official clarification.  I'll let you know as soon as I get a response.



#5 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,294 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 04:20 AM

I think it's pretty much clear that as you can't attach Ranger Spikes to enemies that are not eligible, Mumakil or the three trolls will not be effected by the Spikes. Because they are not eligible targets.



#6 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,306 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 05:23 AM

I kind of hope they DON'T rule in that way.  As I see it, there's nothing about the troll card that makes them ineligible.  You can't play Burning Brand on Dain because he's not eligible -- there's a play restriction.  Players solve this by MAKING him eligible (add a Lore icon).  What if you could bypass the play restriction?  I'm suggesting that there is an intentional difference between the use of the verb "attach" and the use of the verb "play."  In this case, it looks like Trolls can have attachments, you just can't PLAY the attachment on them.  We'll see what Caleb thinks!



#7 leptokurt

leptokurt

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,294 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 07:14 AM

GrandSpleen said:

I kind of hope they DON'T rule in that way.  As I see it, there's nothing about the troll card that makes them ineligible.  You can't play Burning Brand on Dain because he's not eligible -- there's a play restriction.  Players solve this by MAKING him eligible (add a Lore icon).  What if you could bypass the play restriction?  I'm suggesting that there is an intentional difference between the use of the verb "attach" and the use of the verb "play."  In this case, it looks like Trolls can have attachments, you just can't PLAY the attachment on them.  We'll see what Caleb thinks!

 

Okay, I get your point. There's indeed a difference in the wording if you compare the troll's text with Mumakil's. To me bot translates to "no attachments on this enemy", as this was clearly the intention for the Hobbit scenatio, but you might be right about this.



#8 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,306 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 07:28 AM

Most of the time the devs shoot me down in these kinds of questions… we shall see! :)



#9 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,306 posts

Posted 15 February 2013 - 09:42 AM

And official response:

"You are correct. The Ranger Spikes are played into the staging area and not on the trolls. Therefore, the troll's game text "Players cannot play attachments on Troll enemies" does not apply. Cheers, Caleb"

Happy hunting gentlemen…


  • chuckles likes this

#10 monkeyrama

monkeyrama

    Member

  • Members
  • 189 posts

Posted 16 February 2013 - 02:12 AM

Hmm. That does make this scenario not so nasty, if you can get a few Spikes into play on Stage 1B.

Ranger Spikes are quickly becoming a new deck-building crutch…






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS