Jump to content



Photo

Question About Talent Trees


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 fjw70

fjw70

    Member

  • Members
  • 577 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:30 AM

 

It is my understanding that you can only select talents in the first row of a talent tree or a talent adjacent to a talent you already have.  My question has to do with whether once you get to a talent tree level can you select any talent on that level.

For example (working from a document posted on the web), on the Bounty Hunter (Assassin) talent tree if you choose Grit and then Precise Aim, can you then choose Quick Strike or do you need to select Jump Up first.  I assume the latter, but just wanted to make sure.



#2 LethalDose

LethalDose

    Member

  • Members
  • 782 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 08:18 AM

fjw70 said:

 

It is my understanding that you can only select talents in the first row of a talent tree or a talent adjacent to a talent you already have.  My question has to do with whether once you get to a talent tree level can you select any talent on that level.

For example (working from a document posted on the web), on the Bounty Hunter (Assassin) talent tree if you choose Grit and then Precise Aim, can you then choose Quick Strike or do you need to select Jump Up first.  I assume the latter, but just wanted to make sure.

The latter is correct.  Determining what talents you can select is described in the third paragraph of Aquiring Talents on page 65 of the Beta Text.  

You can buy talents that that meet either of the criteria below:

  1. Any talent on the top tier of an accessible talent tree.
  2. Any talent links to another already puchased talent.  ("links" are drawn through lines between the talents)

And then, of course, no talent can be purchased twice from the same position, e.g. a politico who has purchased "Kill with Kindess" in the top tier of their ree, can't buy KwK again for 5 points, but can buy it on the second tier of their tree if they meet the second criteria listed above.  Similarly, that Politico could purchase Plausible deniablity twice for 5pts each because it appears twice on the top teir (each purchase meets the first criteria above).  A third purchase of PD would cost 10 pts, because the third appearence of the PD in that tree is in the the second tier of that tree.

Hope that clears it up.

-WJL


"All models are wrong, but some models are useful."  - George E. P. Box


#3 fjw70

fjw70

    Member

  • Members
  • 577 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 10:07 AM

Thanks that does clear it up.  I didn't know that you couldn't purchase the same talent more than once in the same position.  Good to know.



#4 LethalDose

LethalDose

    Member

  • Members
  • 782 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:17 PM

fjw70 said:

 

Thanks that does clear it up.  I didn't know that you couldn't purchase the same talent more than once in the same position.  Good to know.

 

 

I think the rule concerning only purchasing a talent once for each position is implicit.  I don't see it mentioned in the Aquiring Talents section on page 65 or in the information at the beginning of Chapter 4: Talents.  Admittedly, I've missed these before.  I think it does fall into the "common sense" rule though and probably doesn't need to be stated.

Fun fact I discovered looking for it: Since unranked talents may only be purchased once, if character comes across an unranked talent in a tree that s/he has already purchased in a separate tree, the character gains the talent in the new position for free (p88, end of Talent Ranks section).

-WJL


"All models are wrong, but some models are useful."  - George E. P. Box





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS