I've checked the rulebook, combined FAQ, Richard Launius' house rules and the Kevin Wilson sticky thread and I can't spot anything about this…
I've been in an other world, seen things that no man should see, battled ten- (or was it twenty-) tacles through brawn and eldritch spells, and now I'm back in Arkham. I'm stood on an explored token on a gate. I don't close it this turn, what happens in future turns?
I know that if any monsters are at the location then I will have to fight or evade them at the start of each movement phase, whether I move or not. But what happens in further Arkham Encounter phases?
The rulebook (pages 8 & 9) seems to say that during the Arkham Encounters, if an investigator is in Arkham (as 'I' am now) then one of the following three things happens:
1 - If the location has no gate then the investigator has an encounter (which can obviously use locations 'instead of an encounter' effects instead).
2 - If the location has a gate and the investigator has not explored it (signalled by the explored token) then the investigator is sucked through the gate to the other world.
3 - If the location has a gate and the investigator has explored it, he may try and close or seal the gate.
It appears that, as far as I can see, I could stay there for several turns and not even attempt to close/seal the gate and I would not have any encounters.
That strikes me as odd. I know that whilst just waiting I'm not contributing to a win, but there's very little downside. There may even be a big upside for investigators with beneficial upkeep actions…
So what I've been doing, as I guessed it might be the intention or thought I might be missing something, is: treating an attempt to close/seal a gate as if it's an action you can do instead of having an encounter. So if I decide not to try to close/seal then I have a normal encounter (though it must be a normal encounter from the cards - I treat location effects 'instead of an encounter' as unusable as the gate prevents it…).
Of course this may be beneficial, but the first time I used this my first encounter moved me to another location, so there went the explored tokan…
So I wondered:
Am I right that according to the rules you can stay on an explored gate for free (with no encounters, just having to deal with any monsters that are there/appear)?
If so, does anyone else see it as an oddity? Does anyone have a better way to houserule it so it's not 'free'?