Jump to content



Photo

Question: Pilling On and Guard


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Garthnait

Garthnait

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:06 AM

Hi there. 

We have the following game situation:

A Troll blocks a Dwarf Longbeard at a matchup. A Dwarf Blocker is also present at this matchup. No other player then.

The Troll rolls double Target Down. The Dwarven Player now decide to down his Blocker becaus he has Guard. 

Now Pilling On will trigger. Which Player is now legal to be tackled? The Blocker? Or the Lineman?

 

Thanks. ;)


Dices, cubic messengers of fate.


#2 Julia

Julia

    I survived Avi's apocalypse

  • Members
  • 6,406 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 06:56 AM

Garthnait,

I won't be able to check the cards until Sunday (I think). Would you mind posting here the text, so that is easier to help?

Cheers

JULIA


We have dragged Reason from her Throne and set in her place the Empress of Dreams [liber Endvra]
Custom Arkham Horror material / Arkham Horror Advanced Players League

#3 Garthnait

Garthnait

    Member

  • Members
  • 77 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 07:06 AM

"Pilling on: Each time you roll 2x POW during this players tackle attemp, this player may attemp another tackle against a DIFFERENT opposing player"

Important is the word "different". 

I think he can tackled the player that uses Guard, because he had tackled the other player before but the result was moved to the player who uses Guard.


Dices, cubic messengers of fate.


#4 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,292 posts

Posted 14 February 2013 - 08:35 AM

I think Guard text is more relevant here:

"When an opposing player successfully tackles one of your players, you may apply the dice result to this player instead. (This ability occurs after rolling the dice but before applying the result."

You tackled the non-Guard player, Guard merely allows the Guard player to take the damage instead, so tackling a different player would to me mean you tackle the downed Guarder.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#5 NTLBagpuss

NTLBagpuss

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 09:13 PM

That runs counter to the FAQ on Guard and Fient.

 

Q: If “Slab” uses his Guard ability, does he automatically resolve 
his Fend ability as well?
A: Yes. If during a tackle attempt a  result is applied to “Slab,” then 
an opposing player successfully tackled “Slab” (instead of the original 
target player), which allows him to resolve his Fend ability.
 
If you use the same logic as the FAQ uses, then Guard means that the player with Guard becomes the target of the tackle.
 
If you think about it in a real world example, the Guard gets in the way so takes the tackle instead of the intended target. So if you could then get a different target it would be someone other than the Guard you have just tackled.


#6 NTLBagpuss

NTLBagpuss

    Member

  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 21 February 2013 - 09:20 PM

I will say however Guard is badly worded if they wanted it to work like they said in the FAQ example, but that's how I would play it, that Guard changes the target of a tackle attempt, rather than just takes the effects of that tackle as the text implies, but the FAQ doesn't.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS