Jump to content



Photo

Fat Goblin - Encounter 2 Question


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 BsnOne

BsnOne

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 07:53 PM

So what happens if all of the goblin archers are killed before Splig has a chance to interrogate and find Frederick?  The quest guide does not state Splig has the ability to pick up the prisoners and take them back to the torture chamber.  So is this an automatic loss for the OL if all of the goblins are killed?

Just finished playing it (me as the OL) with that exact scenario (was able to interrogate one prisoner before the 3 heroes made it to the hall leading to the prison) and we decided it was OK for Splig to trek down to the torture room, pick up a prisoner as an action, take the prisoner back to the interrogation room, put down the prisoner as an action, and then attempt to interrogate.  It was essentially a moot point as the heroes more or less had the quest wrapped up.  I'll admit I didn't pick Shadow Dragons and opened the first door to unleash my slow-as-sin zombies on them, so poor playing on my part, but still a valid question.

Any thoughts?  Thanks.



#2 Dam

Dam

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,300 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:19 PM

Splig can also carry a prisoner (as per FAQ), but realistically speaking, turn 1 the Gobbos reach the Prison and are carrying the prisoners and by end of turn 2, have dropped off all the prisoners next to Splig.


"A dirty mind is its own reward."


#3 BsnOne

BsnOne

    Member

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:32 PM

Thanks for the clarification, I should probably print up the FAQ and keep it with the rules.  And thinking back to it, I think I left one goblin archer out for a 3 hero quest in the intial set up, and that's why I couldn't get all four prisoners out.  Man, I really screwed up that quest…lol!



#4 drummondii

drummondii

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 04:15 AM

I have a another question about this encounter. If Sprig has successfully interrogated 3 of the four prisoners but has not found Frederick, does he NEED to interrogate the fourth, as you know it must be Frederick. Can he just pick up that prisoner and hot foot it for the entrance/exit, or does he need to expend an action, and potentially waste a turn interrogating the last prisoner before confirming it is indeed Frederick?



#5 Zaltyre

Zaltyre

    Member

  • Members
  • 767 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 06:30 AM

I have a another question about this encounter. If Sprig has successfully interrogated 3 of the four prisoners but has not found Frederick, does he NEED to interrogate the fourth, as you know it must be Frederick. Can he just pick up that prisoner and hot foot it for the entrance/exit, or does he need to expend an action, and potentially waste a turn interrogating the last prisoner before confirming it is indeed Frederick?

He needs to interrogate the fourth prisoner. Just because the players know the way the quest progresses and that 1 of the prisoners is Fredrick, Splig doesn't necessarily know that. Also, the rules don't say je can move the token he is reasonably sure is Fredrick, it says after he's flipped it and it's the right color.


Edited by Zaltyre, 09 August 2014 - 06:31 AM.


#6 drummondii

drummondii

    Member

  • Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 August 2014 - 05:19 PM

Thanks. That's the way we played but I wanted to make sure.




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS