The Party Splits Up

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Delta-175

Delta-175

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 02:44 PM

I am new to roleplaying games, and I just purchased the Beginner Game. In our last (and first) session, the players wanted to split up to different locations to save time. I explained to them that it wouldn't really save time because there was only one GM and I could only focus on one encounter at a time. They agreed, but there were other instances where they felt it would be better to split the party up. I never did let them, not knowing how to work it out. I want to know if the game allows for the party splitting, and if so, where in the rulebook I can find the rules for it.

Delta175

-Dietrich-

#2 Kallabecca

Kallabecca

• Members
  • 846 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 03:51 PM

There aren't any rules for it. Not in this system or any other. As you noted, you're the one controlling everything else in the world, so unless you can split your focus and alternate between the groups, it is best to either try and keep the party together, or put the ones that go off on hold while you try and handle some of what the other's are doing.

#3 Caine Hazen

Caine Hazen

• Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 06:15 AM

If you don't want to be ham-handed about it subtle reminders will work as well.  Have them make a Perception check to note things like an increase in Gamorreans patrolling the streets, or that the Stormtroopers that were coming from the othe rlanding port seem mighty interested in people looking like them.  These little reminders of how much more vulnerable they are split up in situations like that can go a good way to reinforcing the "stick together for protection" mentality.  I think however, the way you handled it was pretty well done as well!

#4 aramis

aramis

• Members
  • 996 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:31 PM

Delta-175 said: