Moral Conundrums for Witch Hunters

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Akora

Akora

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:11 PM

So I have a party member who is a recently minted Witch Hunter. He has played the role very well, keeping his identity mostly secret and relying on it only when necessary. His first official duty was to arrest and execute a known murderer who the Party actually knew and had a grudge with. He carried it out in great RP fashion, trying to take pleasure in it but ultimately being revolted by the excessive violence required.

As time has gone on, he's settled into the role and I haven't really challenged him yet with a nice moral dilemma. I am not an expert on the WH world, so I wanted to see if you guys could provide a few possible situations I could put him in that would test his moral compass vs. his loyalty to the Temple. My first thought would be him encountering a practicing, unsanctioned female using magic to heal soldiers. His duty would require that he arrest and/or kill her yet he's the type of character that would hesitate to punish someone for doing something noble like healing people.

Thoughts?

#2 Yepesnopes

Yepesnopes

• Members
  • 1,380 posts

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:46 PM

Published adventures like the Witch Song or Gathering the Storm will provide some moral dilemas to him. It can be interesting to see how does he solve them.

Cheers,

Yepes

The Book of the Asur - High Elf fan supplement

The Dark Side - Witches, Warlocks, Dark Magic and more

Secrets of the Anvil - Advanced Dwarf careers and runes

Dice statistics calculator for SW EotE

#3 Akora

Akora

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:56 AM

Actually I was hoping to avoid using published adventure material as much as possible so that I can save it for when I am busy with work and can't devote much time to developing a story. I will take a look at them for ideas though, thanks!

#4 Angelic Despot

Angelic Despot