Jump to content



Photo

Carrying Objective Tokens - other actions allowed during carrying?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 black.balerion

black.balerion

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:42 PM

Hello!

As stated in the title I´m interested wheter it is allowed to do other actions during carrying an objective token - especially attacking other creatures with e. g. a two handed weapon or staff? The rulebook doesn´t dive deeper into that topic on page 15…

For me it sounds logical that a character carrying e. g. crops may not use his hands for wielding a two handed weapon. How do you play it?

 

 



#2 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 01:24 AM

Unless otherwise noted in the Quest, carrying items has no effect other than it requires an action to either "pick up" or "drop" an item. You may continue to kill at will in the game without concerning yourself with such real-world physics. A certain suspension of disbelief is required from time to time - right up there with casting magic and fighting Crypt Dragons.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,675 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 05:17 AM

black.balerion said:

For me it sounds logical that a character carrying e. g. crops may not use his hands for wielding a two handed weapon. How do you play it?

You should try to avoid applying logic to Descent, if you're at all concerned about game balance, anyway.

Carrying items has no limit (IIRC) in 2E.  There's a limit on how many you can equip of certain types, but no limit on how many you can carry.

Objective tokens, specifically, are really reliant on quest-specific rules to detail what can and can't be done with them.  However, if the quest-specific rules do not prohibit attacking or taking other actions, then the general rules still apply.  The general rules say you can equip a two-handed weapon and attack with it, so you're good.

If carrying a bale of hay required the use of either or both hands (thus preventing the hero from equipping weapons), the quest-specific rules would say so.  They don't, FYI.

If you want a logical explanation, perhaps he strapped it to his back.  It does take a full action to pick up and also to put down, IIRC.  It's far better, in my experience, to come up with logical explanations for how the rules actually work than to spend time trying to change the rules based on what's logical.  for one thing, you may find that what the OL considers logical is not what the heroes consider logical.



#4 black.balerion

black.balerion

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 11 February 2013 - 08:55 PM

Hello Rico & Steve-O,

 

thanks for your answers. Since DESCENT/2ndE & Runewars are my first FFG Games it seems that I have to get accustomed to that kind of "realism" or game logic.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS