Jump to content



Photo

Question about Ambush…


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 legolas18

legolas18

    Member

  • Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 11:35 AM

What happens when a card such as Ithilien Tracker or Ranger Spikes is being used, and an enemy with Ambush is revealed?  So you have Ranger Spikes in the staging area unattached, or you have Ithilien Tracker using his lower threat ability.  When the enemy is revealed, does it immediately make an engagement check before the Ranger Spikes or Ithilien Tracker can take effect?  


Playing an intense scenario, on the last stage, right when you notice you've been playing with two Bofurs the whole time.


#2 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 643 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:22 PM

I would say that an ambush enemy attaches to the ranger spikes first, because ambush triggers "after enemy enters play", which also makes sense to me. As I see it Ranger Spikes negates the ambush ability much like Thalin negates the surge ability.



#3 legolas18

legolas18

    Member

  • Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 05:02 AM

Thanks for the clarification.


Playing an intense scenario, on the last stage, right when you notice you've been playing with two Bofurs the whole time.


#4 Tracker1

Tracker1

    Member

  • Members
  • 667 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 12:24 PM

Just wanted to revisit this question.
Ambush says: after an enemy enters play.
Ranger spikes says: Attatch to next eligible enemy that enters the staging area.

Does an enemy with ambush enter the staging area if it engages a player?

What about Fresh Tracks this says: after an enemy is added to the staging area, deal 1 damage.

Seems like ranger spikes might work with ambush, since it does not say "add"' but Fresh tracks would not.

Correct?
Bonus question: what about ranger spikes and Goblin Follower. Card's text says he engages the last player.

My thought is ranger spikes does not work here.

Edited by Tracker1, 13 October 2013 - 12:25 PM.

'At last' said Aragorn 'Here are the tracks that we seek!'

#5 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,215 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 01:20 PM

Here's my take: when an enemy enters play, it is placed in the staging area, per the game manaul.  "Placed in" and "Added to" the staging area are interchangeable, per the FAQ.

 

When an enemy with Ambush enters play, I think it would enter the staging area before triggering the Ambush keyword.  It goes into the staging area and is eligible for Ranger Spikes.  This would prevent the Ambush keyword from doing anything, since Ranger Spikes negates engagement checks (Ambush forces players to make engagement checks).  The Goblin Follower does NOT cause players to perform engagement checks -- he just engages the last player immediately.  Ranger Spikes would attach to him, but would not prevent him from engaging.

 

I think Fresh Tracks will target any enemy also targeted by Ranger Spikes (excepting immune enemies).

 

My 2 cents.  

 

But here's a question:  when an enemy has "When Revealed" text, that text is resolved before the enemy goes into the staging area (pg 13 in current FAQ).  Keywords like Ambush and Surge are resolved when a card is revealed-- I assume that's got to happen after the enemy is added to the staging area.  It would be very awkward to hold an enemy card with "Surge" in limbo, reveal the next card, and then add the original enemy to the staging area.  But it looks like this is exactly what happens with a card like Orc Horn Blower, whose "when revealed" text forces players to reveal the next card.  What state is the Horn Blower in, exactly, while that card is being revealed?  He's not in the staging area, but he's in play?  In play but nowhere in particular?  






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS