Jump to content



Photo

In need of rule clarification


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 coleman2k

coleman2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:16 AM

Good day everyone,

 

I am very new to the Twilight imperium board game.( We have played around 6 games so far.).

We are using the shattered empire set:

 

Here is the situation:

The number 8 strategy card allows the player to pick the top 2 cards on the public objective deck, put one into play, and then place the other one on top of the deck.

 

we had one stage 1  public objective left, and the first stage 2 objective was the "Game ends" card. 

Does the game end immediately when the player with the 8 strategy looks at the top two cards or does it only take effect if it is played?

Do you have to play all stage 1 public objectives prior to a stage 2 objective being played?

 

Another example:

2 stage 1 objectives still remain.  The 8 strategy hasn't been picked in 3 turns, giving it 3 bonus tokens.  Next turn a player chooses it. He now has to flip 3 public objective cards into play.   How does the flip 2 , choose one and place the other on the top, work in this situation?

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated as we spent an hour looking for the answers during the game.

 

Thanks again and sorry for not knowing the proper terms.



#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 09:59 AM

In the first example I'd rule that the Imperium Rex card does not take effect until it's actually played. You may of course choose to play the first Stage 2 card before the last Stage 1 card. In this specific situation it would even be preferrable if the playerwith SC8 has the most VPs. The second example is slightly more difficult since I'm slightly hazy as to the exact wording of the Bonus Token effect, but spontaneously I'd say that the pick two choose one part starts after the three Bonus Objectives.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:15 AM

Although if I recall correctly, the three "Bonus Objectives" are to be revealed as soon as someone picks the SC. The draw two choose one part dosen't come into play until that SC is actually used.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#4 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:26 AM

coleman2k said:

Good day everyone,

 

I am very new to the Twilight imperium board game.( We have played around 6 games so far.).

We are using the shattered empire set:

 

Here is the situation:

The number 8 strategy card allows the player to pick the top 2 cards on the public objective deck, put one into play, and then place the other one on top of the deck.

 

we had one stage 1  public objective left, and the first stage 2 objective was the "Game ends" card. 

Does the game end immediately when the player with the 8 strategy looks at the top two cards or does it only take effect if it is played?

Do you have to play all stage 1 public objectives prior to a stage 2 objective being played?

 

Another example:

2 stage 1 objectives still remain.  The 8 strategy hasn't been picked in 3 turns, giving it 3 bonus tokens.  Next turn a player chooses it. He now has to flip 3 public objective cards into play.   How does the flip 2 , choose one and place the other on the top, work in this situation?

 

Any help would be greatly appreciated as we spent an hour looking for the answers during the game.

 

Thanks again and sorry for not knowing the proper terms.

 

To answer your first question. It ends as soon as Imp. Rex is drawn, as per the rules on page 16 of the Shattered Empire rulebook. Second, there is no restriction on whether you must play Stage 1 objectives before Stage 2, thus you may choose, as per the card's rules.

Next, the rule is seperate. You reveal an Objective card for each bonus counter, THEN proceed to the Objective card selection process.



#5 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 10:30 AM

It would be interesting if in a game no one took the Bureaucracy Strategy card untill turn 10 or 11, instant game over that round!



#6 coleman2k

coleman2k

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:49 PM

Thanks for the help…even though the ruling was not in my favour :)



#7 Nehkrimah

Nehkrimah

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 02:31 PM

For the first part, the active player looks at both objectives and chooses to reveal one, it is their choice which card to reveal, so they could reveal the Stage 1 card to keep Imperium Rex out of play for another turn, or if they're in the lead, they can reveal it and win.

Page 16, SE Rules:

Note: If the “Imperium Rex” Public Objective card is

revealed, the game ends immediately after the

Imperium Rex card is drawn, before the active player

fulfills an Objective.

Revealed here means Playing the card face up on the table., not just drawing the card. This is a very powerful thing, you don't want to let the VP leader get Bureaucracy if Stage 2 is online, other players can keep burying Imp. Rex, hoping to get in the lead themselves.

 

For the other example, the 3 objectives from the Bonus Counters go into play after Bureaucracy is revealed, before the next player, if any, chooses their Strategy Card.

Page 16, SE Rules:

Important: If the Bureaucracy Strategy has any

Bonus Counters on it when it is chosen, a number of

Objective Cards are immediately revealed equal to the

number of counters on the Bureaucracy Strategy Card.

Then, when the active player uses the Strategy Action for Bureaucracy, they look at the Top 2 and choose 1 to reveal.

 

-Nehkrimah



#8 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 542 posts

Posted 09 February 2013 - 07:00 PM

Archangelion said:

It would be interesting if in a game no one took the Bureaucracy Strategy card untill turn 10 or 11, instant game over that round!

Interesting you say? Boring I'd say. With no Objectives being drawn there's only the secret (and maybe a preliminary) Objective to aim for. Unless you play with the Artifacts and/or Voice of the Council. So okay maybe there would be more combat but I'd still say it would be more towards boring than interesting. But that's just imho…

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#9 Archangelion

Archangelion

    Member

  • Members
  • 47 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:50 AM

My group played a similar game, we excluded all objectives, and used Industry from the campaign. It was a totally different game, only being able to win my wipeing out your opponents. Having that end game card in there might have made the game end sooner than it would have if the other players had not given up. My oppoents were playing Norr and L1Z1X, and I was playing the Mentak. I'm not quite sure why the other players did so poorly, probably mostly to do with their low level of expansion, I had around double the planets that they had. But there was much complaining about lack of balance and the Mentak's over powered nature, I would have thought that the Norr would have faired much better in such an environment. But the game was anything but boreing!



#10 Shadow

Shadow

    Member

  • Members
  • 127 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 06:12 AM

In galactic battles, the tide goes to the player who plays his race the best. 

L1Z1X, Norr and Mentak are powerful military races with unique advantages.

The player who plays his race to maximumize those unique advantages has the edge.

 

Of those 3 races….

L1Z1x should have an edge because L1Z1x is very adaptable to the map and his neighbors.  His tech lead allows him to pick the tech he needs to counter his opponents.

Mentak has the edge to push back any small fleets that want to expand in his direction.

Norr is the hardest to play right, but that +1 to hit is very nasty to deal with for the long term game.

 

But generally, an aggressive Mentak player with lots of planets is foe to contend with….

 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS