Jump to content



Photo

Descent Newbie, needs help from the pros! =)


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Lobaine

Lobaine

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 07:35 PM

Hey guys! So had my first game of Descent tonight and it went well! I do have some questions the need clarification though…

1. When characters proceed to encounter of an adventure, do they completely reset as far as health and fatigue or just get their feats back?

2. Getting stunned, does that eat your ENTIRE turn to get rid of or just one of your actions? If it does eat your turn, can the overlord play cards still to continue his turn? Example, monster drops stun and then plays dash to get a move action, yay or nay?

 

Thanks in advance!!



#2 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 08:18 PM

Lobaine said:

1. When characters proceed to encounter of an adventure, do they completely reset as far as health and fatigue or just get their feats back?

All is explained p. 18 :

When players transition from one encounter of a quest to another, they perform the following steps:

• Heroes keep all damage suffered during Encounter 1.
• Heroes recover all fatigue suffered during Encounter 1.
• Heroes keep all conditions they had at the end of Encounter 1.
• Each hero player flips his Hero sheet faceup.
• Heroes keep all search cards; any flipped cards remain flipped.
• Any knocked out heroes may perform a stand up action for free.
• The overlord player keeps his current hand of Overlord cards.
• Players disassemble the map for Encounter 1 and refer to the Quest
Guide in order to set up the map for Encounter 2.
 
 

Lobaine said:

2. Getting stunned, does that eat your ENTIRE turn to get rid of or just one of your actions? If it does eat your turn, can the overlord play cards still to continue his turn? Example, monster drops stun and then plays dash to get a move action, yay or nay?

 

Stun only "eats" your first action to get rid of the condition. Once you don't have the card/token anymore, you still have an action available.
In your example, the stunned monster spends one action to get rid of his "stun" condition, then can make his second action (move, attack).

The answer is in the FAQ (link here) :

 

Q: Does the Stunned condition take away a figure’s entire turn?
 
A: No, the Stunned condition causes a figure to use its first action to
discard the Condition card. After a Stunned card or token is discarded,
the figure is free to perform a second action. If a figure becomes Stunned
during its turn after performing its first action, its second action must be
used to discard the Stunned card or token.

An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton

#3 JohnMill

JohnMill

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 12:56 AM

Robin explained everything correctly.

As for:

Lobaine said:

Example, monster drops stun and then plays dash to get a move action, yay or nay?

If a monster stuns a hero, this means he had to perform an attack action. The dash OLcard states: "Play this card when activating a monster during your turn." So this is not allowed after he performed an attack.



#4 Robin

Robin

    Member

  • Members
  • 693 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 03:31 AM

Actually "when a monster is activated" has been ruled as "during a monster's activation" so Dash and Frenzy can be played after a monster has spent one or two actions. You will find the ruling in the "Adam sez" thread on BGG .
An adventure is only an inconvenience rightly considered. An inconvenience is an adventure wrongly considered.
G. K. Chesterton




© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS