Jump to content


Resolving Fate Cards with Secret Informant

  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 onejahoneaim



  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 03:43 PM

LS has 2 Secret Informants in play.

Secret Informant Reads;

"While this unit is participating in a engagement, you may resolve the effects of each fate card in you edge stack an additional time"

LS Player has Heat of Battle;

Fate #: 5 "Deal 1 damage to a target participating enemy unit"

My question lies in when does the 'additional time' resolve? Does the DS get to resolve their higher number Fate cards, then allowing LS to resolve the additional time(s).

OR, Does Heat of Battle deal 3 damage to a target participating unit, BEFORE the DS can resolve their own Fate cards?


Been trolling for awhile. It will be good to see this blurry game come into focus. Ha.


#2 Surge1000



  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 03:57 PM

If the DS player does not reveal any fate cards with a fate number equal to 5 if attacking or lower than 5 if defending, the LS player's Heat of Battle would resolve before any of the DS player's fate cards.


On page 20, the rules state "the effect of each fate card must be fully resolved before the resolution of the next fate card begins."  Secret Informant modifies the resolution of fate cards in such a way that it allows each of its controller's fate cards to be resolved a second time (assuming SI is participating).  The rules do not allow for any method of "banking" a fate card's effect for later usage.  So,  although it doesn't specifically state how to duplicate a fate card's effect in the rules, it should be fully resolved before moving on to the next fate card, and that means using its effect twice if the card's controller chooses to opt for the modification provided by Secret Informant.

#3 onejahoneaim



  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 04:10 PM

That makes sense. Thanks Surge!

© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS