Jump to content



Photo

Remote Server: Access


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 offline-gaming

offline-gaming

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 05:50 AM

When you access a remote server, the rules state clearly you access all of them.  There is a side section discussiong accessing multiple cards, which states to resolve them one at a time.  These rules seem to contradict.  And there are no examples mentioned refering to a Remote Server I was curious…

When accessing a remote server, do you reveal all the cards and choose which to resolve first?  After you've gained Access to ALL cards.   

In a game where I had only three credits I accessed a remote server where a Melange Mine and an Ash were both unrezzed.  I looked at both and trashed Ash.  Its been suggested that I should not have been able to see both cards.  Instead, I pick one at random (my choice) and make a decision there to trash or not.  If I picked up Melange first and chose to trash it, I wouldn't have enough to trash Ash.



#2 ffaristocrat

ffaristocrat

    Member

  • Members
  • 53 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 06:24 AM

offline-gaming said:

When you access a remote server, the rules state clearly you access all of them.  There is a side section discussiong accessing multiple cards, which states to resolve them one at a time.  These rules seem to contradict.  And there are no examples mentioned refering to a Remote Server I was curious…

When accessing a remote server, do you reveal all the cards and choose which to resolve first?  After you've gained Access to ALL cards.   

In a game where I had only three credits I accessed a remote server where a Melange Mine and an Ash were both unrezzed.  I looked at both and trashed Ash.  Its been suggested that I should not have been able to see both cards.  Instead, I pick one at random (my choice) and make a decision there to trash or not.  If I picked up Melange first and chose to trash it, I wouldn't have enough to trash Ash.

 

You access all of the cards but resolve them one at a time. That means dealing with the trigger effects of accessing them (ambushes), deciding whether to trash them and/or scoring an agenda (and potentially winning the game right there). Once you've complete all of that for a card, you move on and access the next card.

You don't see a card until you access it. If all the cards are facedown, you won't know which are which until you look at each of them. So yes, you played it wrong.



#3 Mechanoise

Mechanoise

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 08:36 PM

offline-gaming said:

When you access a remote server, the rules state clearly you access all of them.

 

To avoid possible confusion - When you access a remote server you access all the cards of that server only.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS