Jump to content



Photo

Questions regarding Admirals being Cylons and Reckless skill checks.


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 odinher

odinher

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:39 PM

Hi, we play this great game on a regular basis and have encountered a slight dilemma. If a player is (or becomes Cylon after sleeper agent phase), and he/she is Admiral, they continue to support the players by doing everything right. And when the New Caprica phase occurs, they wait untill Galactica returns to orbit.. aaaaand jumps. Meaning that we get morale loss in addition to huge population loss (due to civilian ships not being evacuated), resulting in human loss. Now, this has encountered "only" 2 times, but it's a disturbing element in each game. "Is the admiral a Cylon?" "Should we brig/execute him just to be sure?"

Unless the Cylons reveal themselves before New Caprica phase, we can never be sure. Even if we execute the admiral and he turns out to be human/Cylon, the next in line could also be a Cylon.

Anyone have found a good solution to this dilemma?

 

And regarding "Reckless" and "Reckless Skill Check". When the cards are revealed and totaled, and there was a Reckless card played first;

1. The Cylons play a "Reckless Skill Check" card. Is this resolved BEFORE or AFTER the skill check is resolved? (There was this one time the Crisis card stated that a Boarding party gets removed, and it was just about to destroy a Civilian ship. If it got destroyed BEFORE the reckless skill check, it would'nt have been able to take the civilian ship, but if the reckless skill check ability was to be resolved first, it would).

2. Also, if there are "Reckless Skill Check" cards in the pool (before revealed Cylons add their card) are the texts resolved on these or do they count only positive/negative (just their numbers)?



#2 The Old Man

The Old Man

    Member

  • Members
  • 208 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 02:54 AM

I hate to say it, but most people don't play with New Caprica, so you may not get much of a response here.  But we'll see.  You may need to post also at BGG.



#3 Skowza

Skowza

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,131 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 10:38 AM

odinher said:

1. The Cylons play a "Reckless Skill Check" card. Is this resolved BEFORE or AFTER the skill check is resolved? (There was this one time the Crisis card stated that a Boarding party gets removed, and it was just about to destroy a Civilian ship. If it got destroyed BEFORE the reckless skill check, it would'nt have been able to take the civilian ship, but if the reckless skill check ability was to be resolved first, it would).

Pegasus rules on page 9 indicate that if a Reckless Treachery card is used it triggers immediately, not after the skill check is resolved:

When a Reckless Skill Card is played, the current Skill check
is considered Reckless. Some Treachery Cards have effects
that are triggered when they are revealed in a Reckless Skill
check (see page 10).

 

odinher said:

2. Also, if there are "Reckless Skill Check" cards in the pool (before revealed Cylons add their card) are the texts resolved on these or do they count only positive/negative (just their numbers)?

I'm not sure if I understand what you mean exactly, but if a player uses the text on a Reckless card before the skill check starts, then the Reckless card is not part of the skill check; it basically works the same way as Investigative Committee being played.

 

As far as the Admiral on NC problem goes… not using NC at all is your best bet (for a long list of reasons), but if you are using it and there are still unrevealed Cylons then the Human players will have to either execute the Admiral and Ellen or just go with their gut feeling that they arent skinjobs.



#4 Mephisto666

Mephisto666

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:46 AM

Answering the second part first…

Cards that are part of the skill check are all that are counted.  Card played prior, like "support the people" and such are not part of that "pool" of cards in the skill check.  (i.e., "play before skill check cards").  Since they are not part of the skill check, they are ignore as part of the skill check… haha.

If the skill check is "reckless": before officially totalling the cards for final result (or doing the "consequence" if applicable <Exodus>) , you resolve any reckless skill check cards.  Only one card title per check, and if needed, resolved in the order chosen by current player.

It does not matter who/what put the reckless skill check card in the check - human, cylon, destiny deck, etc. 

Does that answer what you were asking?

 



#5 Mephisto666

Mephisto666

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 12:05 PM

I just recently played a Base+Pegasus and New Cap game with people playing it for the first time.  I had forgotten how it changes the overall play!

If you don't know who your Cylons are close to New Caprica, you want the Admiral to be human!  And there is one sure way…  the airlock!

If they are human, then they would come back as the next highest in line to be admiral…  if someone plays Cane, you don't want an Adama running around or it messes that plan up! 

It also gives a reason for at least one cylon to stay under wraps, to cast concern on the Admiral's status! 

Adding Ellen into the mix is fun.  Getting the title to change to an "all cards up" human is just as good. 

Executing them just before there turn allows them to get a full hand of cards if they are human, so that's a plan.  The Baltar check is also helpful… unless of course he is a Cylon!   haha.  And that is the fun of the game.  

If you are in a 2 cylon game, and 1 is revealed, and Baltar checks the Admiral and reports human, you are good.  Since a human Baltar would not call a Cylon Armiral human, and only 1 cylon is outstanding, he must be telling the truth (but Baltar COULD still be a Cylon trying to fit in… but why not get the Admiral executed?  Spoils the fun of being Cylon Baltar!)

New Caprica is a nice twist on the game and something "new" to do when you "master" Pegasus plain old Kobol … but it tends not to be used with Exodus. 



#6 odinher

odinher

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 10 February 2013 - 08:25 PM

Thank you for all the great inputs. Alot was clarified :-)



#7 dwightsboardgame

dwightsboardgame

    Member

  • Members
  • 58 posts

Posted 11 February 2013 - 07:37 PM

I always felt like there should be some mutiny mechanic to prevent the admiral from doing an obviously game ending move would be nice. It would eliminate the need for the "airlocking the admiral and having him come back as the next highest in line to be admiral" strategy.

I'd be fine with it having a large penalty so if you left an unrevealed cylon as admiral, he could order the bad jump and force the humans to use the mutiny mechanic (which would cause them much harm). It's much better than making the entire game hinge on one player's action.



#8 Mephisto666

Mephisto666

    Member

  • Members
  • 138 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 12:17 PM

For it to work, a cylon has to stay unrevealed AND has to do nothing or only do thinks that the admiral could do… so it Adama is admiral and the cylon throws in a bad yellow card… you know the admiral is NOT.  You have to be sly and…well… possibly less effective. 

So the nice part is it adds a new strategy option for cylons - and makes the cylon hunt more imperative. 

 






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS