• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Rogue Element

Rogue Element

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 09:19 PM

Hello all,

I'm new to this game and have been confused by a few things. Most of my questions have been answered by looking through thesse forums at topics others have raised, but one thing is still currently confusing me - apologies if someone has covered this one though.

During the set-up for Journey down the Anduin, you draw a card and place it in the staging area (assuming you are playing solo). You then turn to side 1B on the quest card and are instructed to place a Hill Troll in the staging area. Does this count as the encounter card draw for turn one, or do you still have to draw yet another encounter card during turn one?

It's a little confusing, since if you still have to draw another card, why wasn't this just included in the set-up instructions? Also it means that you have three cards in the encounter area (one of which is a Hill Troll!) before you even get going. Needless to say I've been taking a bit of a hammering tackling this one solo with just the core deck!

Many thanks to anyone who is able to shed some light on this.

#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

• Members
  • 1,210 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 02:29 AM

You'll still have to reveal another card during the quest phase.  If you're lucky, you'll reveal a Hill Troll as your first reveal during setup, meaning you won't have to pull another Hill Troll out of the encounter deck.  But of course that rarely happens :)

A lot of the quests, and particualrly the older ones, are quite variable in terms of the opening couple of rounds.  If you get a pretty innocuous couple of reveals, the whole game is much easier.  On the other hand, if the encounter deck is intent on punishing you right from turn 1, things can go south very quickly.  Some of the newer quests avoid this by having static setups (no more "reveal 1 card per player" during setup).

#3 Rogue Element