Jump to content



Photo

I need help with how Wyrm works.


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Decker1613

Decker1613

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:12 PM

So I am trying to understand what the use of Wyrm is for. Why would I use all my credits for this card. Can someone please help me and show me an example. I feel I am missing out on this card?



#2 Karnivor

Karnivor

    Member

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 04:57 PM

It can break any kind of ice and only cost 1MU. I don't think it's a very good card but it can be nice to have as a backup in a deck with few ice in case the corp manages to trash your other programs. I guess…Maybe..I dont use it.



#3 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,556 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 05:02 PM

Decker1613 said:

So I am trying to understand what the use of Wyrm is for. Why would I use all my credits for this card. Can someone please help me and show me an example. I feel I am missing out on this card?

It's meant to be used in conjunction with other cards such as Datasucker, Ice-carver, and Parasite.



#4 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 08:23 PM

What Karnivor and Saturnine said.

Using a single icebreaker to break all kinds of ICE is a pretty powerful, versatile ability. The Corp can have different kinds of ICE out, but you can use just Wyrm to break all of them without looking for your other 'breakers. This can also mean sparing slots in your deck for different cards. Anarchs also use a lot of programs, so memory is at a premium; Wyrm saves memory slots as well.

Wyrm's ability to lower the strength of ICE only once it's much stronger may seem expensive, but it works with other cards in the Anarchs' arsenal.

The real issue is that it costs a big 3 credits to break subroutines. This is quite expensive, especially compared to other Anarch icebreakers which are quite efficient and inexpensive to use. It's understandable that the extra cost is to balance the card out for its versatility in breaking ICE.

That said, people are much more willing to use up memory and card slots to use cheaper icebreakers like Yog and Mimic, which is why Wyrm isn't so popular. If you're willing to spend influence points, you can try the Criminals' E3 Feedback Implants to soften the cost of breaking subroutines.



#5 Volkazz

Volkazz

    Member

  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 01:30 AM

The point is it lowers strength with the only set up being cash (cf. Datasucker) indefinitely (cf. Icecarver)

It then synergises with Anarch's fixed strength breakers: Yog (break Code gates up to strength 3 for zero), Mimic (break sentries up to strength 3 for one per subroutine) and Morningstar (break barriers up to strength 5 for 1 (IIRC)).

Alternatively, it could be used with Parasite as a permanent breaker suite.

The former option basically allows a non-virus anarch deck.

If you want to use a single breaker Crypsis is much cheaper

V.

 

 



#6 vermillian

vermillian

    Member

  • Members
  • 882 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 03:54 PM

Why does Wyrm need to have a strength increase to itself?



#7 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,556 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 05:07 PM

vermillian said:

Why does Wyrm need to have a strength increase to itself?

The rules tell us that ice-breakers need to match the strength of whatever ice they want to interact with; so in order to lower the strength of any ice with its ability, Wyrm must first match the ice's strength.



#8 Decker1613

Decker1613

    Member

  • Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 06:59 PM

Saturnine said:

vermillian said:

 

Why does Wyrm need to have a strength increase to itself?

 

 

The rules tell us that ice-breakers need to match the strength of whatever ice they want to interact with; so in order to lower the strength of any ice with its ability, Wyrm must first match the ice's strength.

So why would I want to spend any credits on pumping up the strength only to turn around and then deflate the strength. ie, I go after an ice that has 3 strength I spend 2 bits to bring it up to match the strength and now I want to spend 3 bits to bring it to 0 strength, I just used 5 bits for nothing and then on top of that I have to spend 3 bits to break 1 supbroutine. The only use I see of this card is that it is another Crypis, am I right on that? Also can I use it with another card to match the strength and then use the ability of that other card to get through the subroutines. ie. I use the Wyrm to bring the stregth down to 0 and then use Mimic to break the subroutines. If I can use it this way then it makes sense but, if I use mimic in the run I have to equal the strength of the card I am incountering so how would that work because the strength of mimic is only 3 and if the ice is 4 I can't use it because of not meating the requiriments of the rules of equaling the strength. Am I allowed to use 2 cards on one piece of ice? And if this is true where in the rules does it say I can do that?



#9 Saturnine

Saturnine

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,556 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 08:11 PM

Maybe these examples will help encourage you to think about how the different cards can interact.

Example 1: You encounter a 4-strength sentry. You have Wyrm and Mimic installed. You spend 3 credits to boost Wyrm to 4 strength, now use it to lower the strength of the ice to 3 by spending 1 credit. Now you can use Mimic to break any subroutines on that ice for 1 credit each.

Example 2: R&D is protected by a lonely Wall of Thorns. It is hosting a Parasite with 3 virus counters (bringing the ice down to strength 2). You have only Wyrm installed. You encounter Wall of Thorns, pay 1 to boost Wyrm to strength 2, pay 2 to bring Wall of Thorns down with Wyrm to strength 0. Because of Parasite's effect the ice is now trashed and you can move on to access R&D.



#10 ErroCal

ErroCal

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 12:18 PM

To answer where in the rules it says you can use two (or more!) "installed cards" on a piece of ice:

It's on pg 18 of the core rulebook, second paragraph with the subheading of "Breaking Subroutines"

enjoy!



#11 Messenger

Messenger

    Member

  • Members
  • 224 posts

Posted 07 February 2013 - 06:24 PM

It's made clearer and more explicit in the FAQ. Second question of Section 3:

Can the Runner use multiple icebreakers on a single piece of ice?
Yes, although there are few situations where this is beneficial. The Runner cannot use one icebreaker's strength to break with a different icebreaker's ability.

Wyrm provides such a situation. It still follows the rules of needing equal or higher strength to affect ICE, but its abilities also allow other Anarch icebreakers to do their thing on higher strength ICE.



#12 profligate

profligate

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 10:55 AM

OP: you posted this question and received answers to it three days ago in the rules thread.  Why would you then ask again, only now in the wrong forum for this question?

That said, you've received the correct answer and the correct rules reference.



#13 profligate

profligate

    Member

  • Members
  • 90 posts

Posted 08 February 2013 - 02:42 PM

Self: it would help if you check the date of the first post in this thread before getting all bitchy.  Apologies.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS