Jump to content



Photo

Need a Production phase?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 KAGE13

KAGE13

    Member

  • Members
  • 63 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 06:44 AM

 

Does production have to be produced BEFORE you build.  The rule book doesn't really say one way or another. 
 
In the case of Engineering where one of your cities can do 2 actions. 
 
Lets say I have 10 Production.  For my first build I buy a building that costs 5 production and gives me 2 more production on the board. 
 
So now for my second build do I have 7 production or only 5?
 
I say 5 because a building shouldn't be able to production production the turn it was build.
 
However, you can use a resource prodcued by another city in the same turn so why not buildings?  At least that was the other players argument.
The rule book doesn't say you can and doesn't say you can't do this.  
 
I think production should be counted before you build, and that's all you get for the turn. 


#2 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 06 February 2013 - 06:56 PM

Iirc about the Engineering tech it says that "you may split the production in a city once per turn". Maybe not an exact quote but that's the gist of it i believe. What that means is not that you get two actions with the current city but rather that you may build two things simultainously, provided you have enough "hammers" to do so in the first place. Or, to straight up answer your question as written, you would have 5 production left.

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#3 Spells.dk

Spells.dk

    Member

  • Members
  • 9 posts

Posted 12 February 2013 - 08:58 PM

Fnoffen said:

Iirc about the Engineering tech it says that "you may split the production in a city once per turn". Maybe not an exact quote but that's the gist of it i believe. What that means is not that you get two actions with the current city but rather that you may build two things simultainously, provided you have enough "hammers" to do so in the first place. Or, to straight up answer your question as written, you would have 5 production left.

I Think what "Fnoffen" meens is that you DON't have 2 actions … if (like in your example) you have 7 hammers and produse a building at cost 5, then you have 2 left … Usualy the 2 are lost because you may only build once,  but with that card in play you can instead bye someting at cost of 2 hammers….

Not realy any good: But say you have 10 hammers then you can buy 2 times 5 hammers .. The card is realy great in the later stages of the game where some citys can have lige 15-20 hammers …

 



#4 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:30 AM

Spells.dk said:

Fnoffen said:

Iirc about the Engineering tech it says that "you may split the production in a city once per turn". Maybe not an exact quote but that's the gist of it i believe. What that means is not that you get two actions with the current city but rather that you may build two things simultainously, provided you have enough "hammers" to do so in the first place. Or, to straight up answer your question as written, you would have 5 production left.

I Think what "Fnoffen" meens is that you DON't have 2 actions � if (like in your example) you have 7 hammers and produse a building at cost 5, then you have 2 left � Usualy the 2 are lost�because you may only build once,� but with that card in play you can instead bye someting at cost of 2 hammers�.

Not realy any good: But say you have 10 hammers then you can buy 2 times 5 hammers .. The card is realy great in the later stages of the game where some citys can have lige 15-20 hammers �

�

Yes that was exactly what I meant, and therefore said. I quote myself: "…What that means is not that you get two actions… but rather…" Maybe not crystal clear grammar-wise but then English is not my native language…

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum


#5 Fnoffen

Fnoffen

    Member

  • Members
  • 525 posts

Posted 13 February 2013 - 02:35 AM

Also, OT, I HATE the interaction between the forum software and my Android phones web browser…

Pax Magnifica Bellum Gloriosum





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS