new player, looking for help

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 RGone

RGone

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 06:31 PM

Im new to LOTR LCG and was wondering if I need more then one core set, or do the other sets and packs make it not worthwhile.

Thanks.

#2 Nick Demus

Nick Demus

• Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 07:20 PM

I´m not sure I read your question right, so I will give you two answers.

Basically you can play for a rather long time by just trying out the four different basic decks included in the set, and then later on experimenting with combining heroes from different spheres. If you want to up the game after a while, you can also play by shuffling heroes and deck cards randomly or designing your own adventures. You can have a lot of fun from the core set alone. But I guess when you like the game enough to try out every variation the core set has to offer, you might feel more than ready to spend a couple of bucks for a set of brandnew cards anyway after a while.

If you just want to know whether you need a second core game, I´d say it would give you some more options in deck building, plus getting two more counters is always nice (but not necessarily needed, since you should be perfectly capable to just write down the changing levels on paper). If you´re the only player in your group who has a core set I would say, yes, a 2nd set might help, but if you just play with one or two players most of the time, I´d say no.

#3 richsabre

richsabre

Tea Drinker of the West

• Members
  • 4,817 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 11:59 PM

yes, as nick says, you certainly do not need 2 to play this game…i have only one and have enjoyed the game since core release….however many players certainly feel that a 2nd set is worth it for the extra copies of certain powerful cards….some even go for a 3rd but i feel that is rather too much of a waste with the other cards