Jump to content



Photo

LCG Question


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 SinisterSyx

SinisterSyx

    Member

  • Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:40 AM

Is there a LCG that FFG makes that dosen't require you to buy 2 or more core sets to play, the reason why I'm asking is cuz I was looking to buy WHI an SW but was told from some of the LCG groups at my hobby shop that I played these 2 game's at stated I would need for WHI 2 to 3 Core sets an 2 for SW.

Now I thought that FFG's LCG's were (the way I read it off this site) that you only needed to buy a core set and expansion's to add more depth the game your playing and thats it, but if X amount of core sets are needed then what's the point.



#2 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,328 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:15 AM

You can play any of the games with only 1 copy of the core set.  However, you will not have complete playsets of every card with one core set.  For instance, with Star Wars it will take 2 core sets to have complete play sets of every card.  For all other products, only 1 will be needed to have playsets of all of the cards.

As far as "what's the point" goes: I think you'll find this model is still a fraction the cost of a traditional TCG.  You should be able to find 2 copies of the Star Wars core set (to continue the example) for less than $80, which will allow you to build any possible deck.  If you wanted to play Magic, $80 often wouldn't cover the mana base needed for a competitive deck.



#3 dboeren

dboeren

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,171 posts

Posted 05 February 2013 - 03:00 PM

You will not have the maximum number of every single card in the game with only one Core, but so what?  You don't need to.

If you really feel that having maximum numbers of everything possible is the only way to play, then Star Wars only requires two Cores, and Netrunner is very close to 2 Cores (there are only a few cards you won't have 3x of at that point).  Personally I like how Call of Cthuhu did it because there are no wasted cards.

But there's no reason you *NEED* to, it's purely based on what you want.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS