Jump to content



Photo

Leoric Of The Book


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 WildChild

WildChild

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 09:32 PM

Hi Descent's players.

I'm a new Overlord and I have a question for this hero.

The Leoric's ability is:

Each monster within 3 spaces of you receives -1Heart on all attack rolls (to a minimum of 1).

…For All Attack rolls versus Leoric, or in general versus all heroes?

If a monster attack other heroes, receive -1 in attack rolls?

Thank you



#2 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 09:57 PM

Any attack to any player as long as the Monster is within 3 spaces of Leoric.  Keep in mind also that Line Of Sight is not necessary for this effect to work.



#3 Steve-O

Steve-O

    Member

  • Members
  • 4,633 posts

Posted 02 February 2013 - 03:22 AM

Rico said:

 

Keep in mind also that Line Of Sight is not necessary for this effect to work.

 

 

I like to pretend that this effect is due to Leoric droning on and on about various nerdy topics.  He was "politely asked to go on sabbatical" from the Universities of Greyhaven after getting in one too many arguements with his colleagues there, so I like to imagine him wandering around the dungeon spouting all sorts of Know-it-All academic nonesense, which in turn distracts and demoralizes the enemy. =P

Sadly, his voice can still be heard from around corners. =P =P



#4 Zut the Overlady

Zut the Overlady

    Member

  • Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 02:32 AM

This weekend, we had an argument about the part that says "to a minimum of 1". What about the defence dice?

Suppose one fo the Overlord's monster attacks a hero within three spaces of Leoric. The result is three <3 and one surge. The surge is used to get +1 <3. This gives a total of 4 <3 .

The hero rolls defence dice and gets a total three shields.

 

The total damage the hero gets is:

1) 0 damage

4 hearts - 1 (Leoric's ability) - 3 shields = 0

2) 1 damage

4 hearts - 3 shields = 1 damage (minimum of 1 applies here)

 

The majority of the group favors interpretation 1, as the card explicitely says that it changes the result of attack dice.

Comments?



#5 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 19 February 2013 - 04:29 AM

"Minimum of one" relates to the damage the roll can do. The rule is saying you can't negate a monster's heart count below one. The defense die has nothing to do with the ability. In your example the surge for +1 damage is negated by Leoric's ability giving a total of three hearts for his attack roll.

 

The minimum relates to a roll where the OL rolls a single heart of damage - this cannot be reduced to zero - he is always allowed to have a "minimum of one" heart as his damage roll.  Whether or not the defense dice prevent damage from being taken is irrelevant.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS