I only have one copy of the the Core set and I am not thinking about buying the Hobbit first expansion because I love the story and it looks great. Are the quests achievable with only the core set cards and the Hobbit ones? Is it legal to include cards from the Hobbit expansion set into tournament decks and in decks to complete other quests (i.e. core's third quest)?
it will be very difficut with just core and hobbit set cards. you are missing alot of key characters and items/events etc that the quests have been designed to be played with, so i would say try building your collection first….thats not to say its impossible- if you like a challenge
you can use player cards from the hobbit sets in all scenarios and vice versa, as long as you dont break the usual game rules such as 3 copies max of each card, not having bilbo from the hunt for gollum pack used (as bilbo from the hobbit set has to be used)