Jump to content



Photo

Defending / Support questions for Melee


  • Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 Daenarys

Daenarys

    Member

  • Members
  • 363 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 08:29 AM

Hi all, just looking for clarification during Melee with regards support / defending . Below are a couple of scenarios

SCENARIO 1

Opponent A attacks Opponent B who happens to have ' Uneasy Truce' as the plot card

Opponent C supports Opponent B and wishes to support.

Opponent A has already paid two gold to Opponent B to satisfy 'Uneasy Truce'.

Does Opponent A have to pay another two gold as there is a new defender ( Opponent C ) and is now Opponent C considered the defender ?

SCENARIO 2

Opponent A attacks Opponent B

Opponent C has Greatjon Umber in play which allows him to join Opponent A as an attacker in a power challenge.

If Greatjon Umber also has an attachment on him which gives him vigilent and renown does this mean that Greatjon Umber would also claim 1 power ( for renown ) and stand ?



#2 ktom

ktom

    Member

  • Members
  • 7,652 posts

Posted 01 February 2013 - 08:48 AM

Daenarys said:

Does Opponent A have to pay another two gold as there is a new defender ( Opponent C ) and is now Opponent C considered the defender ?
A only needs to pay gold to the defender when he initiates the challenge. So he pays B in order to initiate the challenge. When C takes the challenge in Support, A does not initiate a new challenge - so does not have to pay anything - even though C is now consdered the defender.

Daenarys said:

Opponent A attacks Opponent B

Opponent C has Greatjon Umber in play which allows him to join Opponent A as an attacker in a power challenge.

If Greatjon Umber also has an attachment on him which gives him vigilent and renown does this mean that Greatjon Umber would also claim 1 power ( for renown ) and stand ?

Vigilant and Renown only work when you (the controller) win the challenge. C did not win the challenge - even though he had a character participating on the winning side. So Vigilant and Renown don't do anything for C when A wins.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS