Jump to content



Photo

all out war


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 sherpa74

sherpa74

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 10:26 AM

i have a question about this card. i play this card and then atack, the amount of damage that my atacking units deal ( for example 5) is deal to all zones, or i can split it over all zones that are not burning. In other words, if my oponent has no burning zones and i deal 5 damage with my atacking units, i deal 5 damage to every zone if he does not defend?



#2 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 329 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 01:04 PM

I think you are right, 5 damage to each zone, since unblocked damage rolls over to the zone and you attacked each zone.



#3 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 517 posts

Posted 30 January 2013 - 05:02 PM

Actually, you don't get to deal your total combat damage to every zone, you distribute it among the zones.



#4 sherpa74

sherpa74

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 01:28 AM

Mallumo said:

Actually, you don't get to deal your total combat damage to every zone, you distribute it among the zones.

So i will deal a total of 15, and distribute it as i wish?

Seems too powerful.



#5 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 517 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 01:37 AM

No. You play All Out War and declare attackers. Your opponent may declare defenders from all of his zones. Just like during a normal attack, you determine the damage the attackers and defenders deal, and assign them to the other group, and you, as the attacker, may assing any excess damage not required to destroy the defenders to his zones, split as you see fit. So if your attackers deal 10 damage and it takes 5 damage to destroy the defenders, you got 5 points left which you distribute among his zones. You don't deal 5 to each zone.



#6 Junglecat

Junglecat

    Member

  • Members
  • 150 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 04:24 AM

Wow…I didn't realize that. So this card isn't nearly as powerful as I originally thought.



#7 HappyDD

HappyDD

    Member

  • Members
  • 329 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 06:32 AM

That card should be named something like "Marginally Bigger Battle" if that is how you play it. I thought it went down like this: I attack all your zones with attackers, then your defenders can defend from all attacked zones, and the leftover damage is applied to the attacked zone, which is all of them, so if I hit for 10 power and you have 8HP of defenders, I would do 2 damage to each zone since that attack was against each zone. You're telling me that I do 2 damage total and assign it to the attacked zones? Man man man man man…

In inventing how I thought this card was supposed to work, I looked at For Ulthuan! "Play at the beginning of your battlefield phase. Action: Your attacking units may attack two enemy zones this turn. (Declare which units are attacking which zone when you declare attackers.)"

For Ulthuan looks like a card where you would have to split the damage because you have to split the attacking units. In my mind, the fact that there is no split in All Out War means that they all attack each zone… But now that I look at All Out War it looks like the attack targets all zones, there are not three different attacks… But I would add that there is no precedent for this type of wording. I'm starting to get confused.

All Out War: "Play at the beginning of your Battlefield phase. Action: When you declare an attack against target opponent, that attack is against all of that opponent's non-burning zones. Defending opponent may declare defenders from all of his non-burning zones. This effect lasts until the end of the phase."

If you are correct (which is likely), I'm not sure how this card is supposed to be used. In the case where my opponent has three zones unburned, but two of them are damaged, and I could take them both out with one attack if I have enough power, this is a good card to play. Otherwise, it's almost always strictly better to throw a bunch of damage at one zone. I thought this card was supposed to be a meaningful alternative to Muster for War since you could seriously pummel the opponent with one attack, an attack you are forgoing to play Muster for War.

 

 

 

 



#8 Mallumo

Mallumo

    Member

  • Members
  • 517 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 07:24 AM

Don't bring a knife to a gun fight, and don't bring just two damage to an All Out War. It's a finisher, not an instant-win card.

 

Keep in mind all zones are considered to be attacked though, that allows for some shenanigans. Night Goblin Fanatic loves All Out War, for instance.



#9 sherpa74

sherpa74

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 10:14 AM

good with mounted marauders also, if they atack all zones , defending player must sacrifice something in any atacked zone.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS