Jump to content



Photo

Warlord III Reinforcments + The Wyrm Turns = broken?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Sjuh

Sjuh

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 07:48 AM

Hi. I'm OL to a group of 4 heroes, and as it's the first time we play Descent we'd like to do it by the book. Up until scenario 3 in act 2 we've had a pretty even run between the OL and the heroes, with a few more OL wins.

However, I've now obtained the Reinforcements OL skill, and if I understand the rules correctly the heroes should be in quite a jam now…

…or have we missunderstood the rules?

The scenario is this:

We have completed encounter I of the Wyrm Turns. The heroes won, but I managed to stall the game heavily, and now have all 15 OL cards in my hand. Which of course includes the Reinforcements card.

Gearing up for Encounter 2, the victory condition for the heroes is "When the heroes defeat the last monster, …"

As I have 0 cards in my discard pile, nothing stops me from playing the Reinforce card every turn (as long as i don't play any other cards). And I can make sure to place at least one monster out of the heroes reach (or blocked by other monsters), making it largely impossible to kill off all monsters during the heroes turn.

Thus, nothing would stop me from carrying the Dragon Skull to the Entrence, albait it could be slow work.

Is this correct? Can Reinforcements be played every turn like this? Are the heroes fried becouse they don't have any hero with the "the OL dicards a card" skill?

Help is very welcome, as sort of the same thing would be applicable for the Finale that we're about to play; recieving full group reinforcements every turn in Encounter II of either of the Finales do seem to make it largely impossible for the heroes to win?



#2 Sjuh

Sjuh

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 07:59 AM

(Oh, and add to the above that one of the open groups are Elementals that go "Air" as the last action of every turn…)



#3 Rico

Rico

    Member

  • Members
  • 169 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 06:26 PM

Air was modified in the errata so, not sure if it has the intended effect you desire. As for Reinforce, enjoy the loophole while you can as FFG has stated this card is being reworked. Most likely see a change in the next FAQ update.

 

 



#4 JohnMill

JohnMill

    Member

  • Members
  • 27 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 10:43 PM

About the Elementals the Errata states: "Monster card, Elemental, Act I and II - The Air ability should read “Until the start of your next turn, this monster can only be affected by attacks from adjacent figures.”

 

About the reinforce overlord card: If you want, you could do that every turn, yes. However keep in mind you are, probably, playing with your "friends" and a game is meant for fun. So everytime I come across a player who does things like that to (legaly) break a game, I refer him to the "d*ck-punching-rule". To people who say this "legal" rulebending is a fault of the game, I explain that this is a social problem, not a game problem and encourage others to punch them in the d*ck every time they do this and if they complain about it tell them to show you the rule prohibiting d*ck-punching.
 



#5 Sjuh

Sjuh

    Member

  • Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 31 January 2013 - 10:22 AM

Thanks Rico and JohnMill, I managed completely missed that note about Air in the Errata!

We decided to scrap the "Reinforcements" card entirely, replacing it with one of the other lvl 3 OL cards; it seems to be the only straight forward option atm.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS