• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 FelixP

FelixP

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:52 PM

Hi,

I have been playing recently Talisman main game with my 8 y.o daughter. She played Prophetess and was unlucky enough to get 1 twice (using fate) at City  Enchantress. She had a Counterspell spell and without hesitation she said she used that spell to counteract changing to a toad by the Enchantress. Well, I got stuck - I have been playing Talisman for ages (15+ years), but never came to this point that someone is using that spell against 3rd party character. Initially, I said "no way" but she convinced me that Enchantress must be using a sort of magic (a spell?) to turn one into a toad. So, if you think that that way actually the Counterspell can be a powerful spell in duel games against strength-based characters’ hardly able to use craft (e.g. Troll) as it usually turns to be useless .

Later on she used another Counterspell against Imp to avoid teleportation to the place she did not want to.

Can someone make a comment on that, please? It makes some sense to me , but is it in line with all the rules? (a side note: we play only base game, no expansions)/

Brgds.

Felix

#2 Dam

Dam

• Members
  • 7,295 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:53 PM

Those might be "spells", but they aren't Spells as the game sees it. Counterspell only works against cards with the keyword Spell on them (and Command Spell).

"A dirty mind is its own reward."

#3 FelixP

FelixP

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 29 January 2013 - 12:12 AM

Dam said:

Those might be "spells", but they aren't Spells as the game sees it. Counterspell only works against cards with the keyword Spell on them (and Command Spell).