Photo

Why would I use Stormtroopers as minions?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 facenorth23

facenorth23

• Members
  • 32 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 06:23 AM

I'm very new to rpg, but this star wars EOTE thing got me completely hooked… I started a party with me as a GM, but I can not get this thing out of my head… maybe I'm wrong…

The adventure book states that as a GM I should warn the PCs that it would be wise to run from the stormtroopers, because they are very strong… Now, if I play them as minions, it seems that they are less strong than as an individual… Wouldn't it be more interesting (and more difficult) to have the stormtroopers scatter around and surround the PCs… Now they can act as individuals, and have a seperate turn each round… no??

I really don't see, how they would become so powerful… I did a test with my wife, playing Oskara… Hell yeah, she had them twice out of three fights…

Help me out here…

Sometimes you win. Sometimes you learn.

#2 New Zombie

New Zombie

• Members
  • 470 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 08:02 AM

the beginner box is designed to incrementally expose a GM and player to some of the rules of edge of the empire.

the purpose of the stormtrooper encounter(s) is to introduce the minion rules.

minions are designed to get that sense of a scale i.e. 6 opponents on the field at one time - while minimising/mitigating the increase in time it takes to take actions for each combatant.

also those blaster rifles are nasty. 9 damage plus successes can drop a character quite effectively. the 2 minion groups severely damaged my players.

#3 Sturn

Sturn

• Members
  • 1,172 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:29 AM