so I popped this open today was really impressed blabbity blah it's awesome.
But my friend and I were hung up on a major aspect of the rules. During deployment you play your guys. Then after confrontation, if you have people left over hanging around you can send them to miss around with the force forever.
So we got that, you attach the little force card to them, and if you have more little force bubles on your cards you flip it to your side, and if it's ever on your side at the beginning of your turn, you get your teams benefit, whether that's an extra objective damage or the death star starts getting pissed off.
But, like, those character chilling in the force world. dio they get an exhaustion token every turn? do you add the bubbles of the characters that are exhausted as well? We were definitly playing it wrong, as we had one character each, flipping the force token back and forth each round, adding and removing a focus from our own guys back and forth, removed during the beginning, and adding it back during the force step…
so what are we doing wrong here? It seems like the death star would just be in this perpetual stasis and the rebels have an insanely massive advantage, as they need 3 cards to kill, where as the dark side teams need to either mill 8/10(depending on precon or deck construction) or 24 turns fo force victory? I say 24, because you need to first win it on your turn, then keep it through your opponents,
So what are we doing wrong?
Can anyone explain step by step, without the rulebooks, I can only describe as huttese-like explanation of the force step? It seems like these guys off in force town could even attak each other, yet that didn't make sense at all. do they brin their eqiupment with them too? Can only characters work on the force, or can ships? Can pilots inside of ships work on the force, and if so, is it just the pilot, or just the ship, or is it both at the same time? Can you eject a pilot or something so he goes to do force work, while his ship auto pilots itself into y-wings?
I just need the entire force step to become WAY more clear for my group of players to enjoy it without any issues, especially before I request our 2 local game stores, apart of a chain of 3, begin hosting organized play events for my benefit.
I think that was the only part of the rules I didn't get. and I guess one other aspect that I got but seemed ludacrous was that the rebel had a way to do an instnat 5 damage to an objective, with a ship that does 2, an objective that does 1, an unopposed bonus damage, an an event. That is a 1/3 victory swing achievable on round 2? They can just attack right after the DS could either choose to play a blocker or go for force, and take out a 1/3 of my entire game? That seems really powerful, considering the length of time the darkside needs to accomplish anything. I had this 5 damage combo dealt to me twice. Yes, it involves 2 unooposed strike, entirely my fault, but it was my first game. Yet still, they could have played an event to stop my blockers and gone ahead with it. so when my death star was at 2, 10 away from victory, lightside was 2/3 into winning.
I can only imagine that the force step wa disastrously mishandled. Can anyone elaborate or help at all please?
One last thing, I recieved 2 or a card that clearly states 1/6, and the sith deck was 45 cards instead of 46. The rulebook specifys that the precons should be 48 as well. Was my set shipped with an improper card set, specfically two of one type of location(it was the sith location that actually specifieies one only, which was ironic and we laughed about it, but still)
Or am I over thinking it and everyone got 45 card decks, not including objectives.
Thanks in advance,