Jump to content



Photo

striking in battle


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Rogue 3

Rogue 3

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:28 AM

OKAY this is probably in the rule book but ill ask it any way so others can see it as well.

 

I understand once in a battle you have to strike but if a character has blaster icons must he target another character or can he strike only the objective or even simply focus to strike with out targeting? can he target himself?



#2 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,430 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:33 AM

When a unit strikes, it must resolve all of its icons. In the case of unit damage, it has to be assigned to a single participating enemy unit (except when attacking with targeted strike).

#3 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,369 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 09:55 AM

And if there is nothing eligible to be affected by the icon be it unit, blast or even tactics then the icon simply does nothing.



#4 Rogue 4

Rogue 4

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 11:32 AM

Toqtamish said:

And if there is nothing eligible to be affected by the icon be it unit, blast or even tactics then the icon simply does nothing.

Though tactics can be put on someone not in the engagement. Unless there are no units out to be targeted is when tactics would not work. I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?


Millennium Falcon, Rebel Transport, Tantive IV, A-Wing x2, B-wing, E-Wing, X-wing x4, Y-wing, Z95 Headhunter x2, HWK-290, TIE Fighter x 5, TIE Advanced x1, TIE Bomber, x1, TIE Interceptor x1, TIE Defender, TIE Phantom,  Imperial Aces, Slave I, Lambda Shuttle

 


#5 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,369 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 11:46 AM

Rogue 4 said:

Toqtamish said:

 

And if there is nothing eligible to be affected by the icon be it unit, blast or even tactics then the icon simply does nothing.

 

 

Though tactics can be put on someone not in the engagement. Unless there are no units out to be targeted is when tactics would not work. I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

 

That is exactly what I was talking about when I said if nothing eligible. No opposing units means no eligible targets for tactics icons. 



#6 Rogue 3

Rogue 3

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 12:03 PM

Rogue 4 said:

Toqtamish said:

 

 I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

 

When you dont want to kill x-wing escort. 

when you dont want to leave a damage for questionable contacts.

etc



#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,369 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 12:41 PM

Rogue 3 said:

Rogue 4 said:

 

 I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

 

When you dont want to kill x-wing escort. 

when you dont want to leave a damage for questionable contacts.

etc

 

Tactics doesn't kill anything. 



#8 Rogue 3

Rogue 3

    Member

  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 01:40 AM

Toqtamish said:

Rogue 3 said:

 

Rogue 4 said:

 

 I mean who wouldn't want to use tactics?

 

When you dont want to kill x-wing escort. 

when you dont want to leave a damage for questionable contacts.

etc

 

 

 

Tactics doesn't kill anything. 

agg my mistake for some reason thought he was talking about unit damage



#9 Darik

Darik

    Member

  • Members
  • 191 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 10:28 AM

A follow-up that has probably been covered but would love to make sure I'm doing this right:

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike.

LS has no units at the current battle so he passes.

I play Talon Roll to remove the focus token from my TIE.

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike again in the same battle.

 

Is this all legal?



#10 DailyRich

DailyRich

    Member

  • Members
  • 443 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 11:37 AM

Darik said:

A follow-up that has probably been covered but would love to make sure I'm doing this right:

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike.

LS has no units at the current battle so he passes.

I play Talon Roll to remove the focus token from my TIE.

I Focus my TIE Fighter to have it strike again in the same battle.

 

Is this all legal?

Yes.  That's pretty much the purpose of Tallon Roll.  And as there's an action window after each unit strikes, you'd be able to play it during that engagement.  And since the engagement would still be ongoing, the TIE would have to strike again.

Of course, you could wait until that engagement ends, then use the Tallon Roll so the TIE could engage a second objective.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS