Jump to content



Photo

Focus Power Test


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Delazar78

Delazar78

    Member

  • Members
  • 62 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 02:48 AM

Page 185 kinda confused me, and the errata didn't really clarify it for me, so pls help me out.

Let's say I'm a Librarian with WP 40 and PR 4.

I want to use the Smite power (page 195, 1d10 x PR damage).

Fettered: I have to roll 50 or less, and inflict 2d10 damage. No chance for Psychic Phenomena.

Unfettered: I have to roll 60 or less, and inflict 4d10 damage. If I roll doubles, I trigger Psychic Phenomena.

Push: I have to roll 75 or less, and inflict 7d10 damage. I automatically trigger Psychic Phenomena.

Did I get this right?


Delazar

 

My RPG campaigns


#2 Thebigjul

Thebigjul

    Member

  • Members
  • 307 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 04:59 AM

Yes you are right.



#3 TechVoid

TechVoid

    Member

  • Members
  • 267 posts

Posted 03 February 2013 - 09:43 AM

I understand your confusion.

I still say that the rules in the DW Core Rulebook simply say that you get +5 WP per PR on an opposed roll.

But after I read the Black Crusade Rulebook I agree that already in the DW game, the game designer intended it the same way: You get +5 per PR on a Focus Power Test.

Which leads me to the next question, if we agree to consider Black Cruasde as a major DW errata. In the BC Core Rulebook is written, that the opponent of an opposed Power Test can choose his own PR. Does that mean, if the opponent chooses to go for pushed, he also invokes Psychic Phenomena, regardless if he wins the contest or not?

Cheers,

-- TechVoid.



#4 Mindforge

Mindforge

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 23 February 2013 - 08:20 PM

TechVoid said:

I understand your confusion.

I still say that the rules in the DW Core Rulebook simply say that you get +5 WP per PR on an opposed roll.

But after I read the Black Crusade Rulebook I agree that already in the DW game, the game designer intended it the same way: You get +5 per PR on a Focus Power Test.

Which leads me to the next question, if we agree to consider Black Cruasde as a major DW errata. In the BC Core Rulebook is written, that the opponent of an opposed Power Test can choose his own PR. Does that mean, if the opponent chooses to go for pushed, he also invokes Psychic Phenomena, regardless if he wins the contest or not?

Cheers,

-- TechVoid.

I don't think the books are errata at all. They are stand alone games that still use the some of the same system. Example: A DH psyker just has to roll a 9 on any Focus Test to get psychic phenomena. A DW Librarian (unfettered) has to roll doubles to get psychic phenomena. I don't think they are mistakes in the fact that the Librarian has more control than a DH psyker. In BC, they get a bit crazier too allowing the psykers even further control because they are connected/twisted by the warp even more. I don't really see it as errata.

As far as the question goes… with pushing on an opposed power test. If both psykers are using powers (meaning there are two manifestations) that are opposing each other yes. If there is only one manifestation, no. But that's just an opinion.

But you are right TechVoid. I believe that you get +5 per PR on a Focus Power Test.



#5 Gorehammer

Gorehammer

    Member

  • Members
  • 69 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:21 AM

Delazar78 said:

Page 185 kinda confused me, and the errata didn't really clarify it for me, so pls help me out.

Let's say I'm a Librarian with WP 40 and PR 4.

I want to use the Smite power (page 195, 1d10 x PR damage).

Fettered: I have to roll 50 or less, and inflict 2d10 damage. No chance for Psychic Phenomena.

Unfettered: I have to roll 60 or less, and inflict 4d10 damage. If I roll doubles, I trigger Psychic Phenomena.

Push: I have to roll 75 or less, and inflict 7d10 damage. I automatically trigger Psychic Phenomena.

Did I get this right?

No, you are wrong.  Power level doesn't alter Psy rating for the purpose of the Focus Power roll, you always use your base rating.   Power level only applies to the final effects of the power.  



#6 TechVoid

TechVoid

    Member

  • Members
  • 267 posts

Posted 25 February 2013 - 06:38 PM

Gorehammer said:

No, you are wrong.  Power level doesn't alter Psy rating for the purpose of the Focus Power roll, you always use your base rating.   Power level only applies to the final effects of the power.  

And here we go again…



#7 herichimo

herichimo

    Member

  • Members
  • 870 posts

Posted 26 February 2013 - 12:59 AM

TechVoid said:

Gorehammer said:

 

No, you are wrong.  Power level doesn't alter Psy rating for the purpose of the Focus Power roll, you always use your base rating.   Power level only applies to the final effects of the power.  

 

 

And here we go again…

This Response from Tim should put this issue to bed:

 

 

"You do, in fact, add the +15 Bonus to the Focus Power Test.

Thank you for your question,

Tim

On Feb 1, 2012, at 3:58 PM,

Rule Question:


This question concerns psykers, psy rating, and pushing.

Psykers may add a bonus to their Focus Power Test equal to 5 per PR used for the power.

When you push a power the rules state (pg. 185) a psyker, "may add +3 to his Psy Rating when determining the power's final effects" [sic].

This appears to indicate the +3 only affects the final effects, i.e. damage, range, etc. of the power but does NOT give an additional +15 bonus (5 X 3) to the focus power test to manifest.

Is this the case or does the +3 also contribute to the bonus to focus power tests?"

 

According to this answer the Psy Rating used in manifesting a power does translate to a bonus to the focus power test.
Yes Psykers are powerful in Deathwatch.
Yes, it would be nice if they were reworked a litte.
But, I've yet to come up with any method to do it right myself.
So, we'll either have to suffer the status quo, or hope FFG fixes it sometime.



#8 Mindforge

Mindforge

    Member

  • Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 27 February 2013 - 01:52 AM

herichimo said:

According to this answer the Psy Rating used in manifesting a power does translate to a bonus to the focus power test.
Yes Psykers are powerful in Deathwatch.
Yes, it would be nice if they were reworked a litte.
But, I've yet to come up with any method to do it right myself.
So, we'll either have to suffer the status quo, or hope FFG fixes it sometime.

I think the in game 'psychic phenomena' does a great job controlling psykers. I wouldn't change psykers at all. I have a Librarian in my game that uses power fettered all the time and then resorts to unfettered only if he needs to. He has never pushed, Well, he pushed once - in our first game session. After that, he was always worried. He ended up rolling on te 'Perils of the Warp' - a 25% chance when you roll on the Psychic Phenomena table. Rolling on the Perils of the Warp table is almost always scary for a character. He rolled Psychic Mirror, blasted himself and an ally with smite (he got lucky).

Also, I use the corruption rules in Dark Heresy. You spoke of reworking the system, I wouldn't - if anything incorporate rules that allow you to track moral threats - use the malignancy test. I give Space Marines a +10 on the Willpower Test on the Malignancy test because they are more resistant than humans. Space Marines also run the risk of Mutation. In my games if a character falls to corruption, they are mine and must make a new character.

So with Corruption being a way to basically lose your character in-game and with no real way to turn the effects of corruption around, psykers in my game need to be very careful.

IDEAS FOR USING CORRUPTION IN YOUR GAME

Pass notes to players with high corruption. It will create tension at the table. Especially if you tell the character secrets the other characters have - such is the weapon of chaos. Promise +500 experience in return for stealing from another player. I try and force them to gain more corruption once they hit 20-30 CP. I'll promise (and give them) all sorts of stuff for experience. I've even promised players that they can keep their characters (which I will honor) for doing things to get CP… all in all, I try to get characters to fall to Chaos. Those that do, I reward with experience…. those that resist over the long term I reward even more though.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS