Jump to content



Photo

Newbie Question concerning skill use


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Trucker Bob

Trucker Bob

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:46 PM

Question came up. A hero is attached to a squad with weapons that require the use of the reload skill. During the activation, can the hero perform a sustained attack (doesn't have the weapon that requires reload) while the squad hero is attached to does a skill reload/attack?  We played it that this was legal.  Only our third game playing Dust, and no one in the group has any experience with this system. Thanks for any answers or links to where this question has been answered already.



#2 Loophole Master

Loophole Master

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,938 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:12 PM

If a hero is attached to a squad, they are effectively a single unit. That unit cannot reload and still perform a sustained attack in the same activation.



#3 Trucker Bob

Trucker Bob

    Member

  • Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 01:55 AM

Thanks.  Thought that might be the case.



#4 xBeakeRx

xBeakeRx

    Member

  • Members
  • 200 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 04:35 AM

Loophole Master said:

If a hero is attached to a squad, they are effectively a single unit. That unit cannot reload and still perform a sustained attack in the same activation.

Agree here, the hero and squad act as a single unit, so would have to take the same actions.  Since the reload weapon requires an action to reload before shooting, hero would not be able to make a sustained. 

Now, what you could do in this situation is detach your hero from the squad and then make a sustained attack independently of the unit he/she was combined with.  Heroes can share spaces with other units, so this would be legal.



#5 Major Mishap

Major Mishap

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,728 posts

Posted 28 January 2013 - 05:21 AM

Best bet is not to attach the hero to a reload squad in the first place, for example, put lara with the heavy lasers and not the fre#~*….. multi rocket things :)



#6 SeismicShock

SeismicShock

    Member

  • Members
  • 67 posts

Posted 02 February 2013 - 06:05 AM

Minor note: Detaching is a one way street during the game, you can't reattach






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS