Jump to content



Photo

Elfhelm & Local Trouble


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Ranger of the Force

Ranger of the Force

    Member

  • Members
  • 89 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:54 PM

Since Elfhelm reduces a threat raise from encounter cards, would he make local trouble (gain threat each time he exhausts, readies, etc.) have no impact since he reduces it by one and Local trouble raises it by one each time?  



#2 monkeyrama

monkeyrama

    Member

  • Members
  • 161 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:11 PM

Ranger of the Force said:

Since Elfhelm reduces a threat raise from encounter cards, would he make local trouble (gain threat each time he exhausts, readies, etc.) have no impact since he reduces it by one and Local trouble raises it by one each time?  

Think so, although someone with a better head for the intricacies should clarify whether or not an encounter card that has become an attachment loses its intrinsic 'encounter card' status.

Also, if your threat is 49, then Elfhelm won't help, since the threat gain applies first, popping you up to 50. An unusual situation, but worth bearing in mind!



#3 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 1,207 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:48 AM

It looks like he can completely counter the card's effect as long as he is ready.  There's no limit how many times his Response can trigger.  Seems he can neutralize this card pretty well, even multiple copies -- at the price of not being able to use him for anything else (without some character-readying ability, that is).

And yeah, an encounter card attached to a character is still considered an encounter card (you just don't have "control" over it).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS