Jump to content



Photo

Engaging the Death Star


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Rashley

Rashley

    Member

  • Members
  • 252 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 11:45 AM

It seemed so easy to enhance the Death Star with that Enhancement card, so it can be Engaged.  However, what does "Engage as though it was an Objective" mean when it is immediately followed by "It is not an Objective"?  If it is never an Objective, you could never put damage on from units with the  Blast Icon - Just ridiculous - nor the Fate card that does damage during the Edge Battle, or even the Objective that adds damage if you win the Edge Battle!  These must be allowed, but what about the Event that does 2 damage to an Objective if it is played during an engagement with the Death Star?  The only difference is the wording of 'Engaged Objective' and just 'Objective'.  Any official word on what is allowed or isn't?  Cheers!



#2 Surge1000

Surge1000

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 12:05 PM

See the discussion here:

http://www.fantasyfl...&efpag=5#775826

 

Probably the most contentious debate in this game to date.

Nuff said.



#3 Rashley

Rashley

    Member

  • Members
  • 252 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:16 PM

Thanks for the forum link.  Has it been FAQed yet?  The general consensus seems to be that 'Engaged Objective' things work, but not 'Objective' things.  That looks the simplest way to cover things until the official answer comes out.  The Luke Skywalker not being able to use it just looks like a 'Thematic' oversight from the films climatic scene.  Cheers!



#4 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,088 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:11 AM

There is no FAQ yet. 



#5 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,317 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:22 AM

Rashley said:

Thanks for the forum link.  Has it been FAQed yet?  The general consensus seems to be that 'Engaged Objective' things work, but not 'Objective' things.  That looks the simplest way to cover things until the official answer comes out.  The Luke Skywalker not being able to use it just looks like a 'Thematic' oversight from the films climatic scene.  Cheers!

No FAQ yet :-( Also, you can use Luke with Trench Run, just not Red 5. *shrugs*

#6 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 662 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 05:39 AM

dbmeboy said:

Rashley said:

Thanks for the forum link.  Has it been FAQed yet?  The general consensus seems to be that 'Engaged Objective' things work, but not 'Objective' things.  That looks the simplest way to cover things until the official answer comes out.  The Luke Skywalker not being able to use it just looks like a 'Thematic' oversight from the films climatic scene.  Cheers!

No FAQ yet :-( Also, you can use Luke with Trench Run, just not Red 5. *shrugs*

Ah, the joys of gamisms … Nothing better than a little disconnect due to rules.


Welcome to the machine!


#7 Surge1000

Surge1000

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 06:30 AM

MasterJediAdam said:

dbmeboy said:

Rashley said:

 

Thanks for the forum link.  Has it been FAQed yet?  The general consensus seems to be that 'Engaged Objective' things work, but not 'Objective' things.  That looks the simplest way to cover things until the official answer comes out.  The Luke Skywalker not being able to use it just looks like a 'Thematic' oversight from the films climatic scene.  Cheers!

No FAQ yet :-( Also, you can use Luke with Trench Run, just not Red 5. *shrugs*

 

Ah, the joys of gamisms … Nothing better than a little disconnect due to rules.

 

If I were a betting man, I'd bet a future iteration of Red 5 will be usable with Trench Run.  The Red 5 we have from the core set would be OP with Trench Run.



#8 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 662 posts

Posted 26 January 2013 - 10:20 AM

Surge1000 said:

MasterJediAdam said:

 

dbmeboy said:

Rashley said:

 

Thanks for the forum link.  Has it been FAQed yet?  The general consensus seems to be that 'Engaged Objective' things work, but not 'Objective' things.  That looks the simplest way to cover things until the official answer comes out.  The Luke Skywalker not being able to use it just looks like a 'Thematic' oversight from the films climatic scene.  Cheers!

No FAQ yet :-( Also, you can use Luke with Trench Run, just not Red 5. *shrugs*

 

Ah, the joys of gamisms … Nothing better than a little disconnect due to rules.

 

 

 

If I were a betting man, I'd bet a future iteration of Red 5 will be usable with Trench Run.  The Red 5 we have from the core set would be OP with Trench Run.

The truth this is. 


Welcome to the machine!





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS