Jump to content



Photo

Exhausted Cards and Card Text


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 jesterhawk

jesterhawk

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:57 AM

Ok, so last night I was playing the game as a Rebel Alliance and my wife has all her dark side force committed units exhausted as do I.  However, I have Jedi Training Objective which gives me 1 force during the force struggle but it is exhausted due to the fact that I used it to bring in Yoda in my deployment phase.  My wife says that because the card is exhausted that I can not use the card text.  That lead to a much large question that can any card (Objective, Unit, Enhancement, etc) be able to use their card text abilities if the card has a focus token on it and is exhausted.  I think the answer is yes my wife thinks it is no.  Can someone help to clear this up for us?

 

Thanks

JH


Check out "about{dot}me{/}PRAquilone"

@praquilone


#2 Niranth

Niranth

    Member

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 10:01 AM

The text is unavailable only if it says to focus to gain the Action.  In this case, your wife was incorrect.



#3 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,034 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 10:04 AM

Relevant section of the rules, pg 27:

"Exhausted
A card that is exhausted (i.e. has one or more focus tokens on it) cannot be focused to pay for card effects, cannot focus to strike, and cannot generate resources. However, other card abilities of an exhausted card may still be triggered, and its constant effects (if any) are still active, as long as such abilities do not require the card to focus, to be ready, or are not otherwise prohibited by the card text."



#4 Nerdmeister

Nerdmeister

    Member

  • Members
  • 544 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 08:05 PM

The prohibition about exhausted cards not adding their force icons to the force struggle only applies to units committed to the force through the normal channels (placing force commitment cards in the force phase). Even then the objective doesn´t technically have any force icons but just a passive effect.

In short: it still adds to the struggle, even when exhausted



#5 jesterhawk

jesterhawk

    Member

  • Members
  • 68 posts

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:16 AM

Thanks!

JH


Check out "about{dot}me{/}PRAquilone"

@praquilone





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS