Jump to content



Photo

Award unopposed bonus when all defending units are destroyed before edge battle?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 djuanbond

djuanbond

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:49 AM

 

 

The following is a gameplay example I ran into the other day: If a player has one participating unit (defender) in an engagement and that unit is destroyed before the edge battle due to an action (Admiral Ackbar), does this result in an unopposed bonus for the attacker?

I ask the question because the rules for unopposed bonus says, "Any participating unit (attacking or defending) that has not been destroyed by the end of the resolve strikes step is considered to have survived the engagement."

Does that mean that the unopposed bonus will be awarded if there were defending units going into the resolve strikes step and they were destroyed? Or, does it mean if a defending unit was destroyed at anytime before the end of the resolve strikes step?

 



#2 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,376 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 04:59 AM

djuanbond said:

 

 

The following is a gameplay example I ran into the other day: If a player has one participating unit (defender) in an engagement and that unit is destroyed before the edge battle due to an action (Admiral Ackbar), does this result in an unopposed bonus for the attacker?

I ask the question because the rules for unopposed bonus says, "Any participating unit (attacking or defending) that has not been destroyed by the end of the resolve strikes step is considered to have survived the engagement."

Does that mean that the unopposed bonus will be awarded if there were defending units going into the resolve strikes step and they were destroyed? Or, does it mean if a defending unit was destroyed at anytime before the end of the resolve strikes step?

 

It means that a unit must still be in play at the end of the resolve strikes step to be considered a surviving unit.  So in your example, the defending player has no surviving units because there are no units that remain at the end of the resolve strikes step.  The fact that they were destroyed even earlier in the engagement is irrelevant.

The unopposed bonus occurs when the attacking player has at least one surviving unit and the defending player has zero surviving units.  Simple way to look at it: if, once everyone is finished striking, there are some attackers left on table and zero defenders (regardless of when those defenders died or if there ever were defenders) then you get 1 extra damage for being unopposed.



#3 djuanbond

djuanbond

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 05:55 AM

Thanks for the clarification dbmeboy!



#4 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 668 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 03:47 PM

So the answer is pretty simple; characters have to make it to the appropriate phase.


Welcome to the machine!


#5 stormwolf27

stormwolf27

    Member

  • Members
  • 623 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:34 PM

djuanbond said:

 

 

The following is a gameplay example I ran into the other day: If a player has one participating unit (defender) in an engagement and that unit is destroyed before the edge battle due to an action (Admiral Ackbar), does this result in an unopposed bonus for the attacker?

I ask the question because the rules for unopposed bonus says, "Any participating unit (attacking or defending) that has not been destroyed by the end of the resolve strikes step is considered to have survived the engagement."

Does that mean that the unopposed bonus will be awarded if there were defending units going into the resolve strikes step and they were destroyed? Or, does it mean if a defending unit was destroyed at anytime before the end of the resolve strikes step?

 

Also, don't forget, in your particular example, you automatically win the edge battle as the defender controlls no participating units when it begins (as long as you use the action window after defenders are declared for the Ackbar trap).

Really saying this for the lurkers who read posts for the responses, as I'm sure you were already aware of this fact. :-)


"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest men." - Willy Wonka


#6 MasterJediAdam

MasterJediAdam

    Member

  • Members
  • 668 posts

Posted 24 January 2013 - 05:11 PM

stormwolf27 said:

djuanbond said:

 

 

 

The following is a gameplay example I ran into the other day: If a player has one participating unit (defender) in an engagement and that unit is destroyed before the edge battle due to an action (Admiral Ackbar), does this result in an unopposed bonus for the attacker?

I ask the question because the rules for unopposed bonus says, "Any participating unit (attacking or defending) that has not been destroyed by the end of the resolve strikes step is considered to have survived the engagement."

Does that mean that the unopposed bonus will be awarded if there were defending units going into the resolve strikes step and they were destroyed? Or, does it mean if a defending unit was destroyed at anytime before the end of the resolve strikes step?

 

 

 

Also, don't forget, in your particular example, you automatically win the edge battle as the defender controlls no participating units when it begins (as long as you use the action window after defenders are declared for the Ackbar trap).

Really saying this for the lurkers who read posts for the responses, as I'm sure you were already aware of this fact. :-)

While I generally resent being called a lurker, I do appreciate it when I read stuff like that; especially since I am so new to the game.


Welcome to the machine!





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS