Jump to content



Photo

Clarification on "targeting"


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 djuanbond

djuanbond

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 10:59 AM

When Force Stasis [http://goo.gl/zZeXw] is played, the text says "Target an enemy Character or Creature unit. That unit cannot be declared as an attacker or defender until the end of the phase." What is the action of "targeting"? Does this mean putting the event card over the unit until the end of the phase? Does it mean putting a focus token on the unit until the end of the phase?



#2 Xenu's Paradox

Xenu's Paradox

    Member

  • Members
  • 154 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 11:29 AM

djuanbond said:

When Force Stasis [http://goo.gl/zZeXw] is played, the text says "Target an enemy Character or Creature unit. That unit cannot be declared as an attacker or defender until the end of the phase." What is the action of "targeting"? Does this mean putting the event card over the unit until the end of the phase? Does it mean putting a focus token on the unit until the end of the phase?

Neither. The term "target" means that you have to select a valid card for the effect (in this case, a character or creature unit), or you cannot even attempt to play the card.



#3 djuanbond

djuanbond

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:03 PM

That's what I figured. I just thought it was weird that there wasn't some visual indication applied to a card that showed it wasn't usable during the phase. 

However, when I do resolve actions that target a player from not being able to participate in a phase, I have the owner flip the card over and at the end of the phase, flip it face up. I know that actions on the card still resolve, but with it flipped over and during a multiple engagement conflict phase, it's a nice reminder.



#4 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,408 posts

Posted 21 January 2013 - 03:10 PM

djuanbond said:

That's what I figured. I just thought it was weird that there wasn't some visual indication applied to a card that showed it wasn't usable during the phase. 

However, when I do resolve actions that target a player from not being able to participate in a phase, I have the owner flip the card over and at the end of the phase, flip it face up. I know that actions on the card still resolve, but with it flipped over and during a multiple engagement conflict phase, it's a nice reminder.

If you need a visual reminder, I would suggest "tapping" the card (turn sideways) instead of turning it over so that you can more easily remember the card's text which may be relevant. Personally, I haven't found remembering to be a problem for one phase.

#5 djuanbond

djuanbond

    Member

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 22 January 2013 - 03:31 AM

Duh, turn it sideways, it's so easy :)

Thanks dbmeboy!



#6 Rogue 4

Rogue 4

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 02:34 PM

Another question about targeting:

 

Can you target your own cards for negative effects on your opponent?

Example:

Vader uses Force Choke on your Emperor, who gives the damage to a Royal Guard. Since a Event was played, I now put one damage on a Home One that has only one health left killing that unit.

Valid move?

 


Millennium Falcon, Rebel Transport, Tantive IV, A-Wing x2, B-wing, E-Wing, X-wing x4, Y-wing, Z95 Headhunter x2, HWK-290, TIE Fighter x 5, TIE Advanced x1, TIE Bomber, x1, TIE Interceptor x1, TIE Defender, TIE Phantom,  Imperial Aces, Slave I, Lambda Shuttle

 


#7 Toqtamish

Toqtamish

    Toqtamish

  • Members
  • 3,326 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:34 PM

Rogue 4 said:

Another question about targeting:

 

Can you target your own cards for negative effects on your opponent?

Example:

Vader uses Force Choke on your Emperor, who gives the damage to a Royal Guard. Since a Event was played, I now put one damage on a Home One that has only one health left killing that unit.

Valid move?

 

 

Absolutely valid. 



#8 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,408 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:36 PM

Rogue 4 said:

 

Another question about targeting:

 

Can you target your own cards for negative effects on your opponent?

Example:

Vader uses Force Choke on your Emperor, who gives the damage to a Royal Guard. Since a Event was played, I now put one damage on a Home One that has only one health left killing that unit.

Valid move?

 

 

 

Valid move.  Force choke targets a character or creature unit.  If it specified an enemy unit, that wouldn't work, but it doesn't say that so it does work.  Also, why not just target the Royal Guard in the first place?  No need to target the Emperor and redirect it to the guard that I can think of…



#9 Rogue 4

Rogue 4

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 03:59 PM

i know i was ust throwing out another option to using the card. I would have done that too.

 


Millennium Falcon, Rebel Transport, Tantive IV, A-Wing x2, B-wing, E-Wing, X-wing x4, Y-wing, Z95 Headhunter x2, HWK-290, TIE Fighter x 5, TIE Advanced x1, TIE Bomber, x1, TIE Interceptor x1, TIE Defender, TIE Phantom,  Imperial Aces, Slave I, Lambda Shuttle

 





© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS