Jump to content



Photo

Sons of Eärendil


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Mechanoise

Mechanoise

    Member

  • Members
  • 45 posts

Posted 19 January 2013 - 12:18 PM

Sons of Eärendil has text which reads:

Response: After another player raises his threat, raise your threat by 1 and reduce that player's threat by one.

Would this mean that, (in a 4 player game), if all players were forced to increase their threat, the player with this card can reduce all other players threat by 1 and increase their own threat by 3? I don't see any restrictions for the number of times this can be done.



#2 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 974 posts

Posted 19 January 2013 - 04:22 PM

Yes, sounds right to me.

edit: and further, since Song of Earendil is not a unique card, you could play 3 on a single hero.  In a 4 player game, if you lost the Questing phase, you could then use that to reduce every other player"s threat by 3 and raise your own by 9, if you had a mind to do so.



#3 Highland Shade

Highland Shade

    Member

  • Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 March 2013 - 04:01 PM

Based on errata and timing of "response" effects, anything which triggers more than one response simultaneously can only happen once, not multiple times. So in this case, if a card/effect raises each players threat by 1 (simultaneous effect) the Song card can only be used on one of the four players.



#4 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 974 posts

Posted 08 April 2013 - 05:25 AM

Highland Shade said:

Based on errata and timing of "response" effects, anything which triggers more than one response simultaneously can only happen once, not multiple times. So in this case, if a card/effect raises each players threat by 1 (simultaneous effect) the Song card can only be used on one of the four players.

Hmm…

Here's that part of the FAQ:

 

(1.08) Responses per Trigger

If a response or forced response is triggered, the effect can only occur once per trigger.

Example: Theodred (CORE 2) reads, "Response: After Theodred commits to a quest…." This effect can only be triggered once each time Theodred commits to a quest.  (p. 4)

This would clearly mean that one response can be used once per trigger.  So, if you have 1 Song of Earendil, you can only trigger the response one time by that card (you can't use that one trigger to continually activate the Song's response text).  As I am reading it, though, this text doesn't address multiple copies of a card, or multiple responses being activated off of a single trigger.  So three copies of Song of Earendil should be able to activate their response from a single trigger (but only one time each, as per the Theodred example above).  Or, for example, if a character leaves play, you may trigger the Horn of Gondor's response AND Prince Imrahil's response AND the response on Misty Mountain Eagles.



#5 GrandSpleen

GrandSpleen

    Member

  • Members
  • 974 posts

Posted 08 April 2013 - 12:36 PM

In that response above I lost sight of the original question, so I wanted to add also that if three characters leave play, that's three discrete triggers and one could trigger the Horn of Gondor's response 3 times.  Likewise if three different players raise their threat, a single copy of Song of Earandil should be able to be triggered 3 times.






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS