Let's say I have a Guardian of Peace (2 damage capacity, protect character, shielding) that currently has no damage and has a shield token. How much damage can it redirect to itself with Protect? 2, or 3? Here's the full rules for Protect:
A card with the “Protect” keyword may take damage
instead of any friendly card in play with the specified trait.
In other words, if a friendly card in play with the trait
specified by a “Protect” effect would take damage, the
controller may instead place any amount of that damage
on the card with the “Protect” keyword. (Damage
beyond a protecting unit’s remaining damage capacity
may not be re-assigned to the protecting unit.)
My question comes from the last part. A shield token does not increase the unit's remaining damage capacity, so does not seem like it would allow the unit to place an extra damage token. The way out of that would be if damage was dealt one at a time and not all at once. But in the case of a single unit dealing 3+ damage (Rancor or Defense Fleet, for instance), it looks like RAW would only allow the Guardian to redirect 2 of them to itself no matter how many shield tokens were present. Thoughts?