Jump to content



Photo

Force Stasis


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 jawajames

jawajames

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 06:56 AM

Card text for Force Stasis:

     Force. Control. Alter.

     Action. Target an enemy Character or Creature unit. That unit cannot be declared as an attacker or defender until the end of the phase.

 

My question: When does the timing on this card work?

With the phrase "until the end of the phase." - This basically means that the targeted unit cannot be attacker/defender in the current engagement and any later engagements in this phase. Which means that it is only useful to play this card in the conflict phase. Play it in the Deployment phase, and it wears off before the Conflict Phase, yes?

But does it target units only before they are declared, or can it target units after they are declared as attackers/defenders? (Ie does "cannot be declared" mean that a person cannot declare them, or that it will cancel their status as already declared)

*Before units to be targeted are declared
      -  If you are the defending player, the timing structure shows that your last chance to play Force Stasis is after the conflict phase begins, but before the active player chooses to engage an objective. This then becomes a guess on how you think the active player will engage in conflicts.
     - If you are the active player, your last chance to play Force Stasis is after you declare your attackers, but before your opponent declares defenders. Again, a bit of a guess on which units your opponent might choose to defend with.

*After units are declared ("cannot be declared" = cancel declared status and prevents them from being declared for the rest of the phase)
     - In either case, it could be played after the enemy unit is declared (knocking out that unit from the engagement), or even after edge battle is resolved, or after each strike is resolved.

 

 

 



#2 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,430 posts

Posted 18 January 2013 - 07:14 AM

Force Stasis does not remove currently participating units from an engagement, it just prevents them from joining one.  You are correct on the timing windows: on defense you would want to play it during the action window just before engagements are declared.  When attacking, your last chance to play it effectively is in the action window between picking the attacking units and picking defending units.



#3 Rogue 4

Rogue 4

    Member

  • Members
  • 343 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 02:27 PM

Can this card target a card that is already exhausted?

Say for example this is the case:

DS has out Vader, LS has out a rebel trooper and a Y-wing.

Force Stasis is used on the Rebel trooper, killing the Y-wing with Vader's ability. BUT the Rebel trooper is already exhausted. He can not fight, so can he be the target of said Force Stasis?

 

Thanks

 


Millennium Falcon, Rebel Transport, Tantive IV, A-Wing x2, B-wing, E-Wing, X-wing x4, Y-wing, Z95 Headhunter x2, HWK-290, TIE Fighter x 5, TIE Advanced x1, TIE Bomber, x1, TIE Interceptor x1, TIE Defender, TIE Phantom,  Imperial Aces, Slave I, Lambda Shuttle

 


#4 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,430 posts

Posted 27 January 2013 - 02:33 PM

Rogue 4 said:

Can this card target a card that is already exhausted?

Say for example this is the case:

DS has out Vader, LS has out a rebel trooper and a Y-wing.

Force Stasis is used on the Rebel trooper, killing the Y-wing with Vader's ability. BUT the Rebel trooper is already exhausted. He can not fight, so can he be the target of said Force Stasis?

 

Thanks

 

It can be used on an exhausted unit (nothing on the card says the unit has to be ready).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS