Jump to content



Photo

Red 2 + Unoppposed


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 bgkoh

bgkoh

    Member

  • Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:14 AM

In the rulebook, under Resolving an Engagement - Step 5 Pg. 20 -

A player does not have the option to pass during thisstep. If he has at least one ready participating unit, it must focus to strike.

and pg. 23 concluding the resolve strikes step - After all units participating in the engagement are exhausted (either by striking, by receiving a focus token during a ∫ icon resolution, or by other card effects), the resolve strikes step is over.

The unopposed extra damage is awarded in Step 6 after the above has been completed.

Would this mean that if Red 2 goes in unopposed and destroys the objective using the Unopposed bonus, he would be ready coming out of the battle?

I think it would as the damage was dealt after the Resolve Strike step which requires all participants to be focused. Step 6 has no such requirement.

Thoughts?



#2 dbmeboy

dbmeboy

    Member

  • Members
  • 2,410 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 10:27 AM

bgkoh said:

In the rulebook, under Resolving an Engagement - Step 5 Pg. 20 -

A player does not have the option to pass during thisstep. If he has at least one ready participating unit, it must focus to strike.

and pg. 23 concluding the resolve strikes step - After all units participating in the engagement are exhausted (either by striking, by receiving a focus token during a ∫ icon resolution, or by other card effects), the resolve strikes step is over.

The unopposed extra damage is awarded in Step 6 after the above has been completed.

Would this mean that if Red 2 goes in unopposed and destroys the objective using the Unopposed bonus, he would be ready coming out of the battle?

I think it would as the damage was dealt after the Resolve Strike step which requires all participants to be focused. Step 6 has no such requirement.

Thoughts?

You are correct.



#3 Surge1000

Surge1000

    Member

  • Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 17 January 2013 - 04:12 PM

As dbmeboy pointed out, you are indeed correct, and this is one of the few frequently discussed scenarios that has actually been addressed by FFG, Nate French specifically (see the inside cover of your rulebook).






© 2013 Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc. Fantasy Flight Games and the FFG logo are ® of Fantasy Flight Publishing, Inc.  All rights reserved.
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Contact | User Support | Rules Questions | Help | RSS